Quick facts

Tuition 2026–27
$38,100 tuition plus $1,625 food service a year. Tuition and feesNew students also pay a one-time $2,500 laptop fee and $1,500 new-student fee. Optional tuition refund plan $600.
Fall 2027 dates
Applications Dec. 4 · ISEE scores, transcripts and recommendations Jan. 15 · interviews and aid Jan. 29 · decisions Mar. 5 at 4 p.m. How to applyISEE scores must come from the current application cycle.
Parent portal
Veracross login. Portal login
School calendar
Schoolwide calendar. Calendar
Location
4650 Bissonnet Street, Bellaire, TX 77401

Checked against Episcopal High School’s own pages on October 8, 2026.

School
Coed · day · Grades 9–12

This is the Bellaire, Texas day school, not the Virginia boarding school.

Earlier entry
No K or Grade 6 program

The first possible EHS entry is high school; Grade 9 is the central doorway.

Fall 2027 application
December 4, 2026

Supporting records and ISEE are due January 15; interviews close January 29.

Decision
March 5, 2027 · 4 p.m.

The public page does not yet state the enrollment reply or deposit deadline.

2026–27 first-year baseline
$43,725

Tuition, required food, laptop, and new-student fee; other costs remain.

Current enrollment
869 students

The 2026–27 profile lists 202 freshmen and 14% of students receiving aid.

Grade 9 is where the school is built to welcome a new class

EHS starts at Grade 9, so every freshman is entering a new school. That shared beginning is important.

A child is not joining a high-school division after classmates have spent nine years together on the same campus.

The current student-support page describes ninth-grade onboarding, orientation, and a freshman retreat. It also names transfer-student onboarding.

The public site does not state how those experiences differ or how long the support lasts.

The key missing number is planned Grade 9 intake. EHS publishes total freshman enrollment, not applications, offers, enrolled newcomers, yield, or aid-request volume.

Families should ask for several cycles of counts rather than trying to turn class size into an acceptance rate.

A transfer route exists, but a current application is not proof of a seat

EHS explicitly mentions transfer-student onboarding. That confirms later entrants are part of school life.

The admissions page, however, does not publish eligible transfer grades or projected openings by grade.

A family considering Grade 10 or 11 should ask whether a seat is expected before doing the full process. It should also request a written credit map.

Graduation requires 23 credits, including four English credits and two religion credits.

The strongest events let a student see the day from inside

Fall 2027 campus tours are scheduled for August 26; September 9 and 23; October 7 and 28; November 11 and 18; and December 2. Registration runs through the applicant profile in Ravenna.

Eighth-grade visit days are September 22, October 29, and November 3, from 9:45 a.m. to noon. Students attend classes, meet campus leaders and the chaplain, and have lunch with student ambassadors.

The school also lists an Arts and Athletics Knight on September 11, an Academic Showcase on September 30, and an open house on October 21. Choose the event that exposes your child’s actual question.

A pep rally cannot answer a workload question, and a classroom showcase cannot answer a late-practice commute question.

Daily chapel and required religion are structural, not decorative

EHS describes itself as an inclusive Christian community guided by the Episcopal Diocese of Texas. It welcomes students of many faiths, but this is not a nonreligious school.

All students and faculty attend chapel each school day.

One weekly chapel period becomes Family Chapel with the student’s advisory group. Graduation also requires four semesters, or two credits, of religion.

Current course descriptions include biblical studies and world religions.

A family does not need to share every Episcopal belief to find a fit. It does need a child who can participate respectfully in daily prayer, scripture, reflection, required religion courses, and service.

Ask to attend chapel and see a current religion syllabus before deciding.

Seven periods, chapel, tutorial, and activities make a full day

Most Mondays run from 8 a.m. to 3:45 p.m. with all seven classes. Chapel and break sit together from 9:40 to 10:20, and tutorial runs from 1:35 to 2:05.

Tuesday through Thursday use blocks. Friday returns to a second full-day pattern.

Wednesday classes begin at 9:10 after a faculty meeting and an early tutorial period. Every published day ends at 3:45.

Sports, rehearsals, clubs, tutoring, and events can extend the family day beyond dismissal.

Current policy keeps phones and smart devices powered off and stored during the instructional day. Limited use is allowed before and after school.

Block-day tutorials are another stated exception.

The course menu is broad; the missing piece is the lived weekly load

The current profile lists 18 honors, 23 AP, and four post-AP courses. It says the average graduate completes five honors and six AP or post-AP courses.

That is a school-reported average, not a requirement or a recommended plan for every student.

The handbook offers two useful pressure valves. Thanksgiving, winter, and spring breaks are generally homework-free, with exceptions for long-range work and possibly AP courses.

A student facing three or more tests or major assignments on one day may ask teachers to move one.

Tutorial periods are reserved for academic help. Students take at least four core courses each semester, complete a required Interim Term, and meet the 23-credit graduation plan.

Course-level changes and withdrawals follow stated deadlines and transcript rules.

EHS publishes no current nightly homework ranges, sleep data, grade distributions, course-change counts, failure rates, tutoring use, or assessment calendar. Ask for a real Grade 9 week at a moderate and an ambitious course level.

There is real support, but it does not modify the curriculum

The Academic Assistance Office offers help with executive function, writing, mathematics, and study skills. Students can seek it before school, during a free period, or in tutorial.

The Testing Center supports approved testing arrangements.

Education Plans are available for documented reading, writing, or mathematics disabilities and ADHD. The school describes minimal accommodations, including up to 50% extended time.

It does not modify curriculum.

A public-school 504 plan does not transfer automatically. Families must apply, provide psychoeducational testing from an EHS-approved resource, and let the school determine its plan.

The Academic Assistance Program is a monitored class with mentoring, planning, and content support.

School counselors provide short-term support and coordinate with outside therapists; they do not provide ongoing therapy. The advisory program gives each student a four-year adult contact.

Ask about caseloads, frequency, cost, scheduling, confidentiality, and profiles the school cannot serve well.

Test the trip at 8 a.m., 3:45 p.m., and after practice

The campus is at 4650 Bissonnet Street in Bellaire, near the West Loop. Most families use Gate 5 off Fournace for drop-off and pickup, with the line running along the Trotter building.

Buildings generally remain open until 6 p.m. The library closes at 4:30 Monday through Thursday and 4 on Friday. Practices and rehearsals can run later, so the important commute is not always the published school-day commute.

METRO Route 65 currently lists a stop for Episcopal High School at Bissonnet and Wilmington. Families considering transit should test the walk, service alerts, heat, rain, and the return trip after activities.

The public school pages do not describe a daily school-bus network, carpool matching, late bus, commuter-route prices, or guaranteed supervision between dismissal and a late activity. Away-game buses are not the same thing as a daily commute plan.

Arts and athletics belong in the schedule, not at its edges

Graduation requires two fine-arts credits. The current profile lists ten curricular dance, music, and theater performance groups plus four extracurricular ensembles.

Advanced groups may use auditions or applications.

The handbook warns that a varsity season and an arts ensemble can create scheduling conflicts. Students are expected to disclose them early.

Ask about cuts, auditions, weekly hours, fees, missed-class rules, late transportation, and whether a freshman can realistically sustain both.

The published first-year baseline is $43,725 before several real costs

For 2026–27, tuition is $38,100. Required food service is $1,625.

A new student also pays a one-time $2,500 laptop charge and a $1,500 new-student fee. Those four published items total $43,725.

The tuition refund plan costs $600. The page calls it optional for families paying in full, so payment-plan families should confirm whether it is required.

With that plan, the listed first-year baseline becomes $44,325.

The current handbook lists AP exams at $100 each and a $40 late fee. Uniforms, textbooks, laptop protection or replacement, transport, parking, tutoring, activities, travel, athletics, arts, and Interim Term can add to the bill.

The public pages do not price them all.

Fall 2027 means the 2027–28 school year, and that tuition is not yet public. Ask for a sample first-year invoice for your child’s likely schedule before treating the current baseline as the budget.

Aid is need-based first, annual, and separate from admission review

The Fall 2027 aid application is due January 29, 2027. EHS uses Clarity, whose application fee is $65.

Families submit 2025 tax returns and 2026 W-2 forms.

The school says financial need is an absolute requirement. Merit may be considered only after need is established.

Admission is reviewed before and separately from the aid request, and the school describes both partial and full-tuition assistance.

Aid requires annual reapplication. The school may reduce or deny renewal after improved finances, deficient academic effort or performance, or conduct concerns.

It requests financial information from all parents, including noncustodial parents and stepparents.

The current profile says 14% of students receive aid. EHS does not publish the average award, recipient count, aid budget, share of calculated need met, or coverage for fees and extras.

It does not participate in TEFA.

Apply first, then book the interview before the calendar tightens

The Fall 2027 application deadline is December 4, 2026. ISEE scores, current English and mathematics teacher recommendations, and transcripts are due January 15, 2027.

The transcript must include the current first semester or trimester and the prior two years.

Students interview between September and January, but a family must apply before scheduling. Interviews run Monday through Thursday from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. and Friday from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. The final interview deadline is January 29.

EHS requires the ISEE and accepts only a score from the current admissions cycle. Decisions arrive March 5, 2027, at 4 p.m. The public page does not state the reply deadline, enrollment deposit, application fee, wait-pool process, or testing accommodations.

Our read

EHS works best when a teen wants the whole four-part school day

The attractive version of EHS is easy to see: a contained four-year high school with serious academics, substantial arts and athletics, daily spiritual life, and a clear adult-support structure. Grade 9 is also a socially cleaner entry than joining a long-running K–12 cohort.

The tradeoff is density. Seven periods, chapel, tutorial, ambitious courses, activities, and a Houston commute all compete for the same week.

A teen who wants several pillars may love that fullness. A teen who needs a lighter rhythm may experience the same design as crowded.

EHS beside Houston's other high-school doors

Compare the Houston shortlistFive Houston schools comparedCompare EHS’s shared Grade 9 start and Four Pillars with St. John’s, Kinkaid, Awty, and Carnegie.Compare a Houston K–12Read the St. John’s School parent guideCompare EHS’s concentrated Grades 9–12 Episcopal model with a non-denominational K–12 school and a Grade 9 entry inside an established cohort.Compare an international pathRead The Awty International School parent guideCompare daily chapel and the Four Pillars with Awty’s multilingual Grade 9 pathways, full IB, French Bac, commute, and complete cost.Compare another broad programRead The Kinkaid School parent guideCompare EHS’s four-year high-school focus with a non-sectarian PK–12 campus, wider entry pattern, and different commute.Build the regional planHouston private-school admissions guidePlace EHS’s December application, January file and interview deadlines, testing, aid, and March decision inside one Houston calendar.See the city contextHouston school guidesCompare independent, Episcopal, international, and specialized options while keeping traffic, weather, support, and cost visible.Check our methodAdmissions Diary editorial standardsSee how we separate current facts, school claims, external data, self-selected reviews, unknowns, and causal limits.

Where to verify and keep reading

We favor direct links to the exact page or document a family may need next. Access dates matter because admissions, tuition, leadership, and programs change.

  • Episcopal High School Houston home page

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current school-published program counts, chapel count, participation claims, and school identity.

  • Mission and Four Pillars

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current mission, Christian identity, Four Pillars, accreditation, and institutional memberships.

  • 2026–27 school profile

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current enrollment, curriculum, activities, aid share, testing, college-attendance, and matriculation data.

  • Fall 2027 application process

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Live Fall 2027 application, interview, ISEE, recommendation, transcript, aid, and decision dates.

  • Fall 2027 admission events

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current tour, eighth-grade visit, arts and athletics, academic showcase, and open-house dates.

  • 2026–27 tuition and fees

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current tuition, required food service, new-student laptop and fee, refund plan, and payment-plan information.

  • Fall 2027 financial aid

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current aid deadline, Clarity fee, need and merit policy, document rules, renewal, and priority order.

  • New-family information

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current arrival, pickup, building hours, campus contacts, uniforms, and new-student information.

  • Current bell schedule

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current full-day, block-day, chapel, tutorial, and dismissal times.

  • Current academics overview

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current academic program and Four Pillars framing.

  • Current smart-device policy

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current instructional-day limits on phones, watches, and other smart devices.

  • 2026–27 Student and Family Handbook

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current graduation, homework-break, assessment, tutorial, phone, conduct, safeguarding, reporting, and emergency policies.

  • Current academic support

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current Academic Assistance Office, Education Plan, accommodation, Testing Center, and AAP overview.

  • 2026 Academic Assistance Office handout

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current support access, documentation, extended time, curriculum limits, and Academic Assistance Program details.

  • Choices counseling and prevention program

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current school counseling scope, outside-therapy coordination, nursing, and prevention programming.

  • Community and student support

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current ninth-grade and transfer onboarding, CARE education, and student-support programs.

  • Advisory program

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current four-year advising, advocacy, Family Chapel, and parent-contact structure.

  • Episcopal identity

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current explanation of Episcopal practice and welcome for students of many faiths.

  • Religion program

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current religion curriculum and school-wide spiritual-life program.

  • Daily chapel

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current daily chapel and weekly advisory Family Chapel structure.

  • Arts at EHS

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current curricular and cocurricular arts overview.

  • Athletics at EHS

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current sports, team, and participation claims; some counts differ from the 2026–27 profile.

  • College counseling

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current college-planning approach and school services.

  • Board of Trustees

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current board and school leadership roles.

  • School leadership

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current senior school leadership.

  • Diocesan boards and institutions

    Episcopal Diocese of Texas · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current canonical trustee selection and Episcopal High School governance rules.

  • Episcopal High School directory record

    National Association of Independent Schools · Accessed September 1, 2026 · External directory confirmation of the Bellaire day high school; membership is not accreditation.

  • Campus map and directions

    Episcopal High School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current Bellaire address, map, and campus access information.

  • METRO Route 65 Bissonnet

    Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current public bus service listing Episcopal High School at Bissonnet and Wilmington.

  • Report abuse, neglect, or exploitation

    Texas Department of Family and Protective Services · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Texas external reporting route for suspected child abuse or neglect.

  • Episcopal High School reviews

    Niche · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Self-selected reviews used only to form visit questions, never to establish prevalence or school culture.