Current model
Girls · Grades 9–12

Day and seven-day boarding. The coeducational PreK–8 division is separate.

Last published size
226 students

Upper School only: 135 boarding, 91 day, 7:1 ratio, average class size 14 in the 2025–26 profile

2026–27 tuition
$79,300 boarding

$48,925 day. Fall 2027 tuition and the full extras families may actually pay remain unknown.

This campus holds two different kinds of school

Santa Catalina operates a coeducational PreK–8 Lower and Middle School and an all-girls Grades 9–12 Upper School. The boarding option belongs to the Upper School.

A Grade 6 leadership weekend is outreach. It is not middle-school boarding or enrollment.↗↗

This boundary matters when reading directories. CAIS reports 505 students and “all genders” for the combined school, while the school’s 2025–26 Upper School profile reports 226 students in the girls’ division.

Those numbers describe different populations; neither should be used as the other’s denominator.↗↗

The California Department of Education lists Santa Catalina as an active private school at 1500 Mark Thomas Drive. The Diocese of Monterey classifies it as an independent Catholic school, not a diocesan-owned school.↗↗

The nonprofit’s board governs the school. Dr.

Barbara Ostos is Head of School, Julie Lenherr Edson leads the Upper School, and Laura Lyon chairs the board. WASC accreditation appears in the school profile and CAIS directory.↗↗

The visit is part of the evaluation and includes the parent

A personalized tour and interview are required, and a parent or guardian must accompany the applicant. Both in-person and virtual formats include a student-led tour, curriculum overview, student interview, parent interview, and student writing sample.↗↗

The in-person visit usually runs about four hours on Monday, Thursday, or Friday morning. It adds a classroom visit, student-run assembly, and deeper facilities tour.

Families unable to travel can complete a virtual tour and separate interview.↗

The current page calls standardized testing optional. Nonnative English speakers must submit TOEFL iBT, while Duolingo requires prior authorization when TOEFL is unavailable.

The completion checklist still says an assessment may apply, so domestic and international applicants should confirm their exact requirement in writing.↗

Early Decision is binding for day and boarding applicants. The current deadline is December 4, 2026, with a December 18 decision and January 8 enrollment.

Acceptance requires withdrawal elsewhere and a 30-percent nonrefundable deposit.↗

There is an important aid-timing ambiguity. The Early Decision page requires the contract and deposit by January 8, while the general aid page says new-student awards are sent with March 10 decisions.

Neither cited page states an Early Decision aid date or an affordability release. A family needing aid should obtain the award timing and release terms in writing before choosing the binding route.↗↗

Catholic life and girls’ education show up in ordinary days

Santa Catalina describes spirituality as central, while welcoming students across religious traditions. Weekly Wednesday chapel, Masses, prayer, retreats, religious-studies courses, and service place Catholic formation inside the timetable, not only on the website.↗↗↗

The Upper School spiritual-life page lists Sunday Masses or Communion Services. Confirmation is optional for juniors and seniors.

The public pages do not clearly state which chapel, Mass, retreat, religion-course, or service events are mandatory for boarders, day students, or non-Catholic students.↗

The all-girls model means every classroom, team, production, publication, and elected role centers girls. That can widen participation and reduce gendered classroom dynamics.

It is still a specific social environment, not an automatic guarantee of confidence or belonging.↗↗

The school’s nondiscrimination statement includes gender identity and expression, while the Upper School is described as all girls. Families needing clarity about applicant eligibility, housing, privacy, athletics, records, or gender support should request current written policy.↗

Most students board, and day students still matter

The 2025–26 profile counted 135 boarders and 91 day students. It also reported 49 international students from 13 countries and 86 domestic boarders from 10 states.

The latter figures happen to add to 135, but the profile does not explicitly say every international student boards. Do not turn that arithmetic into a boarding-composition claim without confirmation.↗

The school says day students help boarders explore Monterey and Carmel. A student wellness committee intentionally includes day and boarding students.

Shared classes, lunch, athletics, arts, clubs, chapel, and traditions create many points of contact before evening.↗↗

That does not measure friendship patterns after dinner or on weekends. Ask students separately where day students are after activities, whether they can join evening events, and whether leadership, transportation, or social access differs by residence status.

The dorms by grade are clear. How staffing actually works is not.

Santa Catalina currently describes three dorms: Thompson for freshmen, Greer for sophomores and juniors, and Hills for seniors. Resident faculty are said to be close by, and each dorm has a living room.

The central patio supports informal community time.↗

The public page does not give resident-adult counts, overnight duty ratios, awake coverage, room configurations, bathroom privacy, accessibility, medication procedures, or response times. It also does not explain roommate matching, changes, checks, or the escalation route outside resident life.↗

Santa Catalina says handbooks are available after login in its parent portal. That may be normal operational practice, but it means the public boarding page is not the residential contract.

Ask to read the current student-parent handbook and resident-life addendum before paying a nonrefundable deposit.↗↗

A 2026 education-consultant visit report claimed four or five rotating dorm parents per dorm and several faculty apartments. This is one visitor’s observation, not school policy.

Families should verify every staffing and nighttime claim directly.↗

Tour the likely freshman dorm, not only a prepared room. Check stairs, locks, sightlines, adult apartments, bathrooms, Wi-Fi, quiet space, laundry, temperature, emergency exits, and distance to overnight health help.

The public story sounds appealing. Applicants still need the rules.

Current school marketing lists weekend paddleboarding, theatre, and trips to San Francisco or San Jose. Tuition includes an evening and weekend shuttle.

The location page also highlights Monterey, Carmel, Big Sur, Silicon Valley, and San Francisco.↗↗↗

An undated boarding-admission Q&A hosted by another school quoted Catalina’s admission director. It described Sunday-through-Thursday study hours, grade-based lights-out, town transportation, Sunday Mass, and REACH permissions.

Treat these details as older information only.↗

A 2026 consultant report described device storage after lights-out and content-filtered Wi-Fi. The public boarding page does not state current device rules, and the school says its handbooks sit behind a parent login.

Ask about phones, watches, laptops, family contact, authentication apps, medical exceptions, monitoring, confiscation, and appeal.↗↗↗

Airport shuttles for vacations are extra. The school does not publish Fall 2027 break dates, required departures, stay-on-campus options, airport routes, adult accompaniment, missed-flight coverage, or travel costs.

International families need this calendar before signing.↗

The program starts broad and grows more specialized later

The prior profile shows a semester system, a 4.0 GPA, and no class rank. Honors, AP, and Advanced Topics courses receive 0.5 weighting and require academic-dean approval.

Weighted options begin in Grade 10 and expand later.↗

Signature routes include a three-year Marine Ecology Research Program, engineering, arts certificates, and a Global Leadership certificate. MERP begins with a selected sophomore group and can include original research with local marine partners.↗↗

The 2025–26 course list spans AP and Advanced Topics work, three world languages, religious studies, programming, arts, Journey, and wellness. A list does not prove annual availability, section size, prerequisites, conflicts, or successful placement.↗

That guide requires four years of English; three years each of mathematics, science, and arts; three years of a world language or completion through Level 3; two and a half years of history; two years of religious studies; one year of health and wellness; and one semester each of computer science and Freshman Foundations.

Seniors must take five classes. Transfer families should map every prior credit against this older published framework.↗

The cited profile and curriculum guide do not report homework hours, assessment frequency, sleep, tutoring demand, course withdrawals, incomplete work, or grade distributions. Boarders also balance meals, activities, study periods, dorm expectations, chapel, and weekends.

Ask for two representative schedules and assignment calendars.↗↗

Supports are visible. How much help a student gets, and where it stops, still needs checking.

Freshman Foundations is an ungraded, homework-free weekly course covering study and life skills. The Math Tutoring Center and Writing Lab offer academic help.

Journey adds leadership, community, personal safety, finance, wellness, and college themes across four years.↗↗

The current wellness framework covers personal development, relationships, movement, spirituality, environment, nutrition, hydration, and rest. A student committee helps shape programming.

These are prevention and education structures. They are not evidence of clinical capacity.↗

A 2026–27 counselor posting describes drop-in and scheduled individual or group counseling, collaboration with resident life, and coordination with off-campus providers. It does not state whether the role is filled or give total counselor staffing, hours, crisis coverage, session limits, confidentiality rules, or referral costs.↗

The cited academic page names subject tutoring, and the tuition page lists private tutoring as an optional expense. Neither defines a learning-support scope or accommodations for dyslexia, ADHD, autism, chronic illness, or executive-function needs.

Families should request a written service map and identify which supports cost extra.↗↗

Traditions, diversity, and a small community can pull in different directions

The 2025–26 profile reported 44 percent students of color, 49 international students, and 36 percent receiving need-based aid. These numbers describe who is enrolled.

They do not show belonging, leadership access, discipline patterns, or who stays, by group.↗

Published clubs include Safe Space, Black Student Union, cultural groups, Model United Nations, publications, Mock Trial, service, and arts. Traditions include senior “big sisters,” Ring Week, Candlelight Mass, and Father-Daughter Weekend.↗↗

Some families will experience these traditions as warm continuity. Others may question gendered language, faith assumptions, cost, or family structure.

Ask how the school adapts participation without making a student explain or disclose private circumstances.

Niche shows 4.4 stars across 116 self-selected reviews. Its safety and happiness polls each show 19 responses, while several student-characteristic polls show 22.

These are small, nonrandom samples. Use recurring comments about sisterhood, rigor, athletics, and family separation as questions to ask, not as representative measurements.↗↗

Many students take part, and the facilities are substantial

Santa Catalina says every student takes an arts class. The program includes theatre, music, visual arts, photography, dance, design, and certificate routes.

A 500-seat theater supports two musicals and one play each year.↗

The region plans for emergencies. The campus plan is not public.

California requires qualifying private-school buildings to have earthquake procedures, protective measures, a disaster plan, and training. Cal OES also publishes broader school-emergency guidance.

Legal requirements do not reveal Santa Catalina’s actual plan, supplies, drills, or performance.↗↗

Monterey County provides alerts, evacuation definitions, incident maps, and earthquake guidance. The county’s current record includes wildfire and industrial-fire emergencies.

This establishes regional planning relevance, not a claim that the campus sits in a particular hazard zone.↗↗

Boarding changes what families need to plan for. Families also need plans for an overnight earthquake, wildfire warning, blocked road, closed airport, student abroad, and a campus evacuation during vacation travel.

Confirm who pays and who remains with students.

Monterey is a gift for learning, and it is also a travel constraint

Santa Catalina describes a 36-acre campus at 1500 Mark Thomas Drive. Monterey Bay, galleries, research institutions, beaches, and Carmel support science, arts, service, and weekends.

The school estimates Silicon Valley at 90 minutes and San Francisco at two hours.↗

Day-student buses to Santa Cruz and Salinas via Highway 68 are optional expenses. Public pages do not show stops, times, prices, capacity, late buses, activity coverage, or missed-bus procedures.

There is no published Upper School aftercare program.↗

For boarders, evening and weekend shuttles are included, while vacation airport transport and off-route taxis cost extra. Ask which airports are served, whether adults accompany minors, how delays work, and when families must collect students.↗

Run the commute during the real morning and activity window. A coastal boarding school can reduce weekday family driving.

It can also increase airport, break, medical, and emergency travel. International families should price multiple annual round trips.

Compare the kind of school first, before comparing prestige

Start with the boarding-school guide and the Bay Area admissions guide. They explain residential intensity, travel, aid, and regional day-school tradeoffs before a family narrows the list.

For another California coastal boarding school, compare Cate and Thacher. Their coeducational settings, residential proportions, outdoor programs, entry rules, and documented safeguarding histories create materially different questions to ask.

Families who want a Bay Area day-school path can also read Castilleja and Head-Royce. Use the admissions hub to organize interviews, testing, aid, and deadlines.

Published tuition is only the first number

For 2026–27, tuition is $48,925 day and $79,300 boarding. It includes meals, with lunch only for day students, plus network support, athletics, most athletic uniforms, performing arts, field-trip transport, publications, yearbook, accident insurance, association membership, and laundry-machine use for residents.↗

Required posted extras include a $400 incidental deposit, $500–$600 uniforms, $400–$700 books and supplies, a laptop, and locally accepted health insurance. Payment-plan families must buy tuition-refund coverage costing 1.45 percent of annual tuition—about $709 at the posted day price or $1,150 at the boarding price.↗

Before laptop, insurance, transport, or refund coverage, those posted extras create $900–$1,300 beyond tuition. Ask whether unused incidental funds return.

Boarders should also budget about $40 weekly, vacation shuttles, taxis, and possible international insurance near $250 monthly.↗

Prior-cycle grants ranged from $6,500 to $41,000 for day students and $15,000 to $73,000 for boarders. Thirty-six percent of the 2025–26 student body received need-based aid.

Neither figure predicts a Fall 2027 award.↗↗

Aid uses Clarity, whose application costs $65. The school says an aid request does not affect admission, and families must reapply annually.

It offers one-, two-, and 10-installment tuition plans, but the refund-plan charge applies to payment-plan families. Ask which plans that phrase includes and which extras aid will cover.↗

The four-year Veritas award goes to one entering ninth grader annually and requires Early Decision. It covers tuition, a laptop, one school-sponsored travel experience, and a $500 annual enrichment stipend.

Eligibility is limited to girls currently in Grade 8 and studying in the United States. Uniforms, books, insurance, spending money, and other unlisted costs are not promised by the scholarship page.↗↗

The school places a $350 graduation fee and additional senior-tradition expenses under its “optional expenses” heading, even though a graduation fee may not feel optional to a senior family. Ask for a grade-by-grade all-in estimate and a written list of charges that aid does and does not absorb.↗

Grade 9 is the designed starting point. Later openings are unknown.

The Upper School serves Grades 9–12. The public admission page does not publish openings by grade or residence status.

Grade 9 is the clearest designed entry. Freshman Foundations, a freshman dorm, and the four-year Veritas award all begin there.↗↗↗

While explaining Veritas eligibility, the Fall 2027 Early Decision FAQ refers to students applying to Grades 10 and 11 but not Grade 12; the general application page does not list open entry grades. That omission is suggestive, not an explicit senior-entry rule.

Do not assume a Grade 10, 11, or 12 place exists without written confirmation.↗↗

Later entrants also need a written credit map. The prior curriculum places weighted courses from Grade 10 onward.

Honors, AP, and Advanced Topics courses require approval. The order of transfer credits could limit the intended science, language, mathematics, arts, or religion path.↗

The calendar is current. How selective the school is remains private.

The current regular process uses the Standard Application Online. Required materials include student essays, a parent statement, current English and mathematics recommendations, a school-head or counselor recommendation, and transcripts from the current and previous two years.↗

The application fee is $75 domestic and $150 international. The regular admission and aid deadline is February 1.

Decisions arrive March 10, followed by March 24 enrollment for aid recipients and April 10 for other accepted students.↗↗

Rolling admission runs from mid-March to mid-August when space remains. Requirements stay the same.

The school says completed rolling files usually receive decisions within seven days. Neither that promise nor an open form reveals how many seats are open.↗

Santa Catalina publishes no applications, offers, yield, wait-list size, movement, or admit rates. It also does not separate Grade 9 from later grades, day from boarding, aid applicants, or international applicants.

Any numerical odds would be invented.↗

Our readConfidence: Medium

Santa Catalina can feel unusually whole, and that makes the choice unusually consequential

The best case is compelling: a student wants girls’ education, a small international community, visible Catholic formation, ocean-linked science, ambitious arts, broad athletics, and adults present across the day. She is comfortable being known and willing to ask for help.

The harder fit is a student who needs anonymity, extensive clinical care, intensive learning remediation, unrestricted phone contact, an elite outside training schedule, broad course shopping, or frequent family access. None of those needs is wrong.

They require operating details the public site does not supply.

Choose your next step

Where to verify and keep reading

We favor direct links to the exact page or document a family may need next. Access dates matter because admissions, tuition, leadership, and programs change.

  • How to Apply

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current Fall 2027 SAO components, fees, testing language, required visit, rolling admission, and timeline

  • Visits & Tours

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current in-person and virtual visit, interview, writing-sample, and parent-participation details

  • Early Decision

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Fall 2027 dates, binding commitment, withdrawal expectation, 30-percent deposit, Grade 10–11 language, and the absence of an Early Decision aid date

  • Tuition & Financial Aid

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · 2026–27 tuition, inclusions, required and optional expenses, senior charges, prior grant ranges, Clarity fee, payment plans, annual renewal, and March 10 award timing

  • Veritas Scholarship

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Fall 2027 Grade 9 eligibility, Early Decision requirement, tuition, laptop, travel, and enrichment-stipend terms

  • Santa Catalina School Profile 2025–2026

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Prior-cycle Upper School enrollment, boarding and day mix, international composition, class size, aid participation, academics, testing, matriculations, and 1850 wording

  • Santa Catalina School Curriculum Guide 2025–2026

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Prior-cycle course descriptions, Journey, graduation pathways, religion, advanced work, and program structure

  • Academic Overview

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current Freshman Foundations, Math Tutoring Center, Writing Lab, MERP, engineering, global education, and travel examples

  • Why Boarding?

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current dorm assignment, resident-faculty, common-space, town, weekend, and day-boarder integration claims

  • Upper School Spiritual Life

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current Catholic identity, Wednesday chapel, Sunday worship, service, social-justice groups, and optional Confirmation

  • Mission & Identity

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current mission, values, Catholic formation, prayer, retreats, Mass, service framing, and 1850/1950 history language

  • 75th Anniversary

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · School’s 2025 celebration of 75 years, used to distinguish the present institution’s 1950 date from its 1850 Dominican roots

  • Parents

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Authenticated parent-portal access to handbooks, forms, report cards, and directories

  • Health & Wellness

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current PRESENT curriculum and day-boarder student wellness committee

  • Part-Time School Nurse

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · 2026 role description for evening and occasional weekend health-center support, head-nurse coordination, medication, care plans, first aid, and emergencies

  • Upper School Counselor 2026–27

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current counselor role, Student Support Team, resident-life collaboration, and off-campus referrals

  • Clubs & Activities

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current academic, cultural, identity, arts, publication, and service opportunities

  • Traditions

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current school traditions and family-event context

  • The Arts

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current participation claim, courses, productions, certificates, and facilities

  • Athletics Overview

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current participation claim, sports, teams, and facilities

  • Location

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current 36-acre campus, Monterey learning context, regional activities, and school-estimated travel times

  • College Counseling

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current counseling description and aggregated Classes 2022–2026 acceptance and matriculation list

  • School Leadership

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current executive leadership and board roster

  • Employee Code of Conduct for Adult-Student Interactions

    Santa Catalina School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current boundaries, prohibited conduct, internal reporting routes, retaliation statement, and nondiscrimination language

  • Santa Catalina School Directory Record

    California Department of Education · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current private-school status, address, administrator, and public record

  • Catholic Schools

    Diocese of Monterey · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current classification of Santa Catalina as an independent, non-diocesan Catholic school

  • Santa Catalina School

    California Association of Independent Schools · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current membership, grade, boarding, accreditation, enrollment, and association context

  • Santa Catalina School Nonprofit Record

    ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer using IRS filings · Accessed September 1, 2026 · June 2025 Form 990 financial scale and nonprofit status

  • California State Regulation of Private Schools

    U.S. Department of Education · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Official summary of California earthquake-plan and training requirements for qualifying private-school buildings

  • Child Abuse Identification & Reporting Guidelines

    California Department of Education · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current mandated-reporter roles and external reporting obligations

  • School Emergency Planning & Safety

    California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current school preparedness, response, seismic, and armed-assailant planning resources

  • Emergency Information

    Monterey County Department of Emergency Management · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current alerts, emergency map, evacuation definitions, active incidents, and preparedness resources

  • Earthquake Preparedness

    Monterey County Department of Emergency Management · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Current regional fault and earthquake-preparedness context

  • Boarding School Admissions Q&A

    The Alexander Dawson School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Undated prior Q&A with Santa Catalina’s admission director; used only for labeled study-hour, lights-out, transport, worship, and REACH questions

  • Santa Catalina School: An Inspiring All-Girls Boarding Experience by the Sea

    GE International · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Attributed 2026 consultant visit report; used cautiously for dorm staffing and device-policy questions, not as official policy

  • Santa Catalina School

    Niche · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Third-party ratings and small self-selected polls, used only as attributed online context

  • Santa Catalina School Reviews

    Niche · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Anonymous, self-selected reviews used only to generate family verification questions