2026–27 community
About 592 students · 495 boarding

The live facts page reports 592 students and 133 faculty; the 2026–27 profile reports 591 and 134. They also differ on students of color, at 46% and 43%. Taft reports 97 day students and an average class size of 11.

Fall 2027 entry
Grades 9–11 preferred · Grade 12 and PG listed

Gateway lists boarding and day applications through Grade 12 plus PG; Taft’s own page emphasizes Grades 9–11 and sometimes PG. Openings by category are unpublished.

Application deadline
January 15, 2027

Aid is due February 1, tax returns March 1, decisions March 10, and the enrollment reply April 10.

Published boarding cost
$81,400 tuition

2026–27 room-and-board price, plus the school’s $2,000 estimate for books and spending. Fall 2027 pricing is not yet public.

Choose Taft’s operating system, not just its opportunities

Taft’s strongest case goes beyond ‘many courses and teams.’ It is a mostly residential community—495 of 592 students board—where faculty teach, coach, advise, live in every dorm, run evening study, and host Friday-night dorm feeds.

That density can make a large school feel personally held. It also means a teenager’s academic, social, athletic, and residential worlds overlap all week.↗↗

Our read: Taft is compelling for an energetic, socially willing student who likes breadth but benefits from rails. It is a shakier choice for a child who needs ESL, a therapeutic setting, dependable private downtime, frequent outside commitments, or highly flexible travel.

The admissions question is not only whether your child can handle the rigor. It is whether this combination of structure and communal living will help your child become more capable.↗↗↗

A big campus made smaller by dorm adults—and some firm boundaries

Boarding is the center of gravity: roughly 84% of students live at school. Faculty apartments are in every dorm, resident faculty hold regular meetings and Friday ‘feeds,’ and the Office of Student Life handles rooming, permissions, attendance, the calendar, and conduct.

Student dorm monitors help with culture and minor problems but are explicitly not disciplinarians; the handbook tells them to take major or safety concerns immediately to adults, the Health Center, or 911.↗↗↗

The model is attentive, not private. Students may room only with their grade.

Faculty may enter rooms for school business, students should expect daily room inspections, and dorm doors are alarmed from 10:15 p.m. to 6 a.m.; leaving during that window requires a faculty member. Room changes are considered after students first try direct conversation and adult-supported mediation.

For a child who needs unusual quiet, sleep, sensory, mobility, or housing arrangements, ask for the accommodation decision before enrolling.↗

Interdorm visitation is phased in by grade. A faculty member must be present, host and guest sign in and out in person, the guest stays in the host’s room, and the door remains ajar.

The policy also allows approved same-grade, same-gender overnights in another student’s room. These are meaningful guardrails; public materials still do not provide dorm enrollment, resident-adult ratios, overnight rounds, bathroom layouts, or response-time data.↗↗

Do not mistake adult proximity for automatic connection. Ask your prospective dorm head how an adult notices a quiet student who is compliant but lonely, how duty coverage works after lights-out, how many students actually remain on a typical open weekend, and what happened in the most recent roommate conflict.

Those answers tell you more than a polished common room.

The schedule is full, and Taft’s own pages need reconciling

Taft redesigned its academic schedule for Fall 2026. Each class now meets three times a week for 70 minutes; Thursdays and every Saturday begin later; and the school builds in advising, office hours, community lunch, clubs, affinity groups, and speakers.

The academic page publishes the daily time-block grid and describes variable Wednesdays and Saturdays that may contain classes, ‘Taft Time,’ or free time. A separate live weekend page still says most Saturdays are academic until noon.

What families cannot see is the A–E rotation and week-by-week Wednesday and Saturday assignment.↗↗

After class comes a required afternoon activity in fall, winter, and spring. Evening study normally runs 8:00–9:30 on nights before class days.

Lower-school students check in and hand over phones at 7:50, study with doors open, retrieve phones from 10:00–10:15, and lose internet at 10:30.

Upper middlers check in at 8:00, study until 9:30, check in again at 10:15, have 11:00 lights-out, and lose internet at 11:30; seniors study until 9:45, have an 11:00 room check, and also lose internet at 11:30.↗↗

That structure is a genuine feature, not a footnote. A child who procrastinates may welcome a protected study block; one who works best late, needs decompression after practice, rehearses at night, or calls family across time zones may experience the same rules differently.

Ask a student to walk you through one recent Wednesday, Saturday, and Sunday—hour by hour—and request the current full schedule rather than inferring it from an admissions visit.

Phone-free days, open weekends, closed weekends, and Reach

During school days, smartphones stay in rooms or lockers from 7:30 a.m. to 2:45 p.m. They are not meant to appear in dining halls, hallways, the Jig, or other public spaces, and earbuds are prohibited while walking halls or outdoor paths. The published policy does not designate family-call windows.

For a child managing diabetes tech, translation, accessibility, or a time-zone-dependent family relationship, ask how exceptions work in practice.↗

On an open weekend, a boarder may leave after the last Saturday class or athletic commitment and normally must return by 7:30 p.m. Sunday.

Overnight requests are due in Reach by 11 p.m. Thursday and need parent, host, and school approval; an adult must be present at the approved home, hotel, or other destination for the whole weekend. Missing the deadline narrows the options and brings a conduct-grade penalty.

Day permissions are available in free time for students in good standing, but going beyond Watertown requires a dean.↗

Closed weekends are different: boarders cannot be away overnight without special permission. The 2026–27 calendar names five—September 5 and 12, December 12, January 16, and May 29—but Fall 2027 dates are not public.

Long weekends are different again: Taft grants one each term and says all dorms remain open. Families should ask how many dining, activity, and adult-supervision options run when many peers leave.↗↗

Day students are assigned a dorm affiliation and may be invited or required at dorm events. They are expected at lunch, welcome at dinner, and required at a few all-school or class dinners.

Lower-school day students generally leave by 8 p.m. on school nights and upper-school day students by 10:15; Saturday-night dorm stays are possible occasionally with advance approval. Classes usually continue despite weather, when day students may request an overnight.

This is substantive integration on paper—but local families should still ask day students what they miss after dinner and how they get home after late events.↗

Broad choice, long blocks, and no guarantee of the exact course you want

Taft advertises more than 200 one-semester courses, an average class size of 11, and a 4:1 student-faculty ratio. Students may also pursue independent study, Global Online Academy, or approved study-away programs.

These figures show institutional breadth, not that every listed course runs every term or has room for every eligible student.↗↗

Graduation requires 36 semester units. Grades 9 and 10 carry at least five academic courses each semester; Grades 11 and 12 may carry four.

The minimums include English every semester, four history units including a full year of US history and two non-US semesters, four lab-science units, world language through Level III, Algebra II and trigonometry, and one arts semester every year. A late entrant’s room for electives may therefore be smaller than the catalog suggests.↗↗

Taft calls its highest level ‘Honors,’ followed by ‘Accelerated.’ The transcript adds five points to grades earned in Taft Honors courses, reports yearly and cumulative Taft GPA, excludes grades earned away from Taft, and does not rank students.

Departments control placement and promotion. For each must-have course, ask whether the student is eligible, whether it will run, whether a seat is likely, and what conflicts can displace it.

‘Offered’ answers only one of those questions.↗↗

The handbook’s academic mechanics are demanding but not careless. Report cards include the course average alongside the student’s 40–100 achievement grade and a separate habits assessment.

A student facing three major assessments on one day may ask, at least 24 hours ahead, to move the last assigned one. Late work can lose five points a day.

These rules reward early self-advocacy; a student who hides trouble until a deadline passes may experience them as punitive.↗

There is a clear adult network; learn who notices first

Every student has an advisor and two class deans for the grade. Ninth graders keep an assigned advisor through the first year; older new students start with a temporary advisor and choose a permanent one in October.

The class dean is the family’s principal coordinator across classes, afternoons, dorm life, absence, and formal accommodations. Advisors send families letters at the end of fall and the school year, but Taft publishes no minimum weekly meeting cadence or response-time standard.↗

The Moorhead Academic Center is open on class days and during Sunday–Friday evening study. Its director and two learning specialists offer strategy work, research-paper planning, screening, evaluation, peer tutoring, and support for documented learning differences.

All students can use resources, although the handbook says lower-school evening use may require a dean’s recommendation. The school does not publish caseloads, recurring-session limits, appointment waits, charges, or outcome data.↗↗

Prior accommodations do not transfer automatically. Taft requires current documentation from a qualified independent professional showing functional impact; a diagnosis alone does not qualify a student.

The 2026–27 handbook set July 1 for residential requests and said late requests would be considered only as space allowed; confirm the 2027–28 date. The handbook explicitly treats a quiet-study preference as insufficient for a single room and reserves singles for clear, substantial documented need.↗

For a child with dyslexia, ADHD, slow processing, chronic illness, or an executive-function plan, do not ask only ‘Do you support this diagnosis?’

Give Taft the actual documentation, current services, frequency, testing arrangements, housing needs, and likely flare-up pattern; then ask the academic center, Health Center, residential life, and class dean to describe one coordinated week in writing. Our broader learning-support guide can help turn a vague assurance into an operating plan.↗↗

Participation is guaranteed; a particular role or roster spot is not

Every student chooses an afternoon activity in all three seasons. Ninth graders and new sophomores take community activities in two of their first three terms; community options can include interscholastic sports, theater, dance, robotics, farming, and service.

Individual activities—such as conditioning, yoga, martial arts, horseback riding, or intramurals—are ordinarily limited to one season unless an exemption is approved. Students select all three seasons in advance and receive a short change window at each season’s start.↗↗

The arts have academic weight, not just extracurricular visibility: every student owes an arts semester each year, and the catalog spans studio art, film, music, theater, and dance.

Still, a course listing does not promise that a beginner can join an advanced ensemble, get a lead, use a studio unsupervised, or fit lessons around the academic and afternoon blocks. Ask about prerequisites, auditions, rehearsal nights, lesson charges, and conflict rules using your child’s actual interests.↗↗

Strong school-based access, with consequential limits

The ten-bed Martin Health Center is licensed and inspected by Connecticut and open 24/7 while school is in session. Its nursing team works with a medical director; St.

Mary’s Hospital and Waterbury Hospital provide local hospital care. Long-term treatments and specialty care are not delivered on campus, although staff can help arrange them.

Families pay for prescriptions, labs, orthopedic supplies, outside services, and transportation to medical or dental appointments.↗

All students need insurance accepted in Connecticut. Taft makes the family responsible for deciding whether its plan is adequate and requires every international student to use the Clifford Allen Associates plan.

That wording matters: ‘insured’ does not mean every nearby clinician is in network or every service is covered. Request the current plan certificate, exclusions, deductible, pharmacy rules, claim process, and price before calculating the year.↗

Taft currently lists four licensed school counselors. Scheduled appointments are available Monday–Friday during the class day; when school is in session, an on-call counselor can be reached through the 24-hour Health Center.

Counseling is included in tuition. The school’s counselors do not prescribe psychiatric medication, but they can coordinate with health staff and outside prescribers or providers.↗

Counselors do not ordinarily contact parents merely because a student attends counseling; most students tell parents, but some keep it private. Confidentiality has safety, abuse, neglect, sexual-assault, and legal limits, and Taft says parents are promptly notified for fundamental-safety concerns.

Families who want notice before non-emergency counseling should discuss that expectation with the counseling director; the handbook specifically invites them to do so.↗↗

The boundary is explicit: Taft says it is not a therapeutic institution. A family or the school may initiate leave when a student cannot function safely or healthily; Taft decides whether the student may return.

The handbook says grades require presence for at least 75% of class days; presence for more than 50% may qualify for credit without grades, while absence for more than 50% makes credit unlikely. It does not specify the exact 50% boundary.

Repeated leave can lead to mandated withdrawal. That is not a criticism—it is a fit constraint.

A student needing regular psychiatric management, eating-disorder treatment, intensive therapy, or a fragile reintegration plan needs a written capacity conversation before signing.↗↗

The missing operational evidence includes routine counseling wait times, caseloads, typical session frequency, how long school counseling can continue, off-campus prescriber timelines, after-hours staffing by role, family notice below emergency thresholds, and continuity during vacations. If one of these could decide whether your child remains enrolled, make it a pre-contract question rather than an assumption.

Three open long weekends do not solve three closed vacations

Taft’s three termly long weekends keep all dorms open. Thanksgiving, winter, and spring vacations do not: the school provides neither lodging nor board, and parents or guardians are responsible.

In 2026–27 those closures run November 20–30, December 16–January 4, and March 10–29; Fall 2027 dates are not published. Dorms stay open the final class night and reopen two nights before the first class after vacation.↗↗

If demand is sufficient, Taft runs family-paid buses at vacation departures to JFK, LaGuardia, Bradley, Penn Station, and Grand Central. Returns operate from Bradley, Penn Station, and Grand Central—not the New York airports—and there is no September-opening bus.

Taft gives approximate drives of one hour to Bradley and two to JFK/LaGuardia. It will not provide this transportation for trips that require leaving before the last class or returning after the 7:30 p.m. sign-in, and it does not transport unaccompanied minors.

Prices and minimum demand are unpublished.↗

Every student, domestic or international, must have a parent or guardian able to collect the student—healthy or ill—within 48 hours when Taft asks. The school links to commercial guardian organizations but tells families to evaluate their services and safety protocols themselves.

A name on a form is not a plan: confirm legal authority, driving distance, overnight capacity, medical consent, background checks, holiday availability, and cost.↗↗

International students are about 25% of the community and come from 56 countries. Taft does not accept midyear entrants and offers no ESL.

It schedules a two-day international orientation before classes and issues the initial-status I-20 by email in early June only after receiving the signed contract and deposit; the hard copy arrives on campus. International aid exists but is described as limited, and international fee waivers are typically unavailable.↗↗

A detailed current policy—and historical reasons to ask how it is lived

The 2026–27 handbook prohibits adult-student sexual or intimate relationships and deep emotional attachments, including by former employees and on-campus vendors. It treats all faculty and staff as mandated reporters; staff with reasonable cause to suspect abuse, neglect, or imminent serious harm must report immediately to Connecticut DCF.

Students can report sexual misconduct to the dean or associate dean of students, EthicsPoint, Watertown Police, or 911. EthicsPoint is a third-party channel that can accept anonymous and confidential reports about handbook or conduct concerns.↗↗

For formal sexual-misconduct cases, Taft may use school staff or an outside investigator; it says investigators receive trauma-informed training. Both parties may present evidence and review the final report.

A six-faculty ad hoc Harassment Panel uses a preponderance standard, consults the Head of School, and issues a final decision without appeal. The policy offers reporting amnesty for certain school-rule violations but allows counseling, education, and parent notice.

Families should decide whether those protections, discretion, and lack of appeal feel proportionate.↗

Policy detail is not performance evidence. Taft does not publicly provide annual counts of safeguarding, harassment, bullying, or bias reports; median response times; findings and sanctions; DCF or police referrals; staff boundary-training completion; background-check protocol; dorm staffing ratios; or an independent current safeguarding audit.

Ask for de-identified data and board-review dates. A refusal or vague answer is itself information.↗↗

Two older personnel matters deserve precise treatment. In 2014, a Taft theater and film teacher employed since 1989 received a federal five-year sentence for receiving and distributing child sexual-abuse material found at his home.

Federal prosecutors said they had no evidence he had sexual contact with a child; Taft said at the time it had no indication students were involved or at risk. That limits what can responsibly be claimed, but it does not erase the seriousness of a long-serving educator committing these crimes while employed by a school.↗↗

A 2016 independent investigation commissioned by St. George’s recorded that, during a 2011 reference call before Taft hired a former St.

George’s employee, Taft’s then-head heard of student discomfort and a recommendation that the candidate not live in a dorm; the same account says St. George’s described him as cleared.

We found no public Taft report establishing misconduct at Taft or documenting the final employment finding and corrective action. The lesson for parents is about reference checking and transparent follow-through, not guilt by association.↗

Turn a polished tour into a family decision

Families new to boarding school may want to pair this profile with our admissions timeline, interview and campus-visit guide, dorm/weekend/safeguarding guide, and full-cost worksheet. Taft’s fit becomes much easier to see when you compare its actual class, activity, study-hall, and weekend rhythm alongside the total family obligation—not brand names or college lists.↗↗↗↗

  • Before applying: confirm the right entry grade, international Grade 9/10 test, how Taft treats Gateway’s strongly recommended interview, and any accommodation documentation the school needs to review.
  • Before revisits: request the current A–E rotation and week calendar, a sample course plan, dorm and day-student routines, the Fall 2027 tuition sheet, and the 2027–28 closure calendar if available.
  • During the visit: ask students—not only adults—to narrate a Wednesday, Saturday, open weekend, difficult academic week, and time they sought help.
  • Before April 10: compare written course access, aid, guardian/travel plan, insurance, medical support, residential accommodation, and all-in cost across offers.
  • After enrolling: confirm the 2027–28 residential-accommodation deadline—the current handbook uses July 1—then calendar travel requests, health forms, insurance, and guardian coverage before summer becomes rushed.

$83,400 is a baseline, not the all-in boarding number

For 2026–27, boarding tuition including room and board is $81,400; day tuition is $60,050. Taft estimates another $2,000 for books and spending and says it does not add technology or graduation fees.

That makes the school-published boarding baseline $83,400. Fall 2027 tuition, deposit, and payment-plan terms are not yet public.↗

Build a second budget around your child: required clothing; technology and repairs; laundry; health insurance; deductibles and prescriptions; outside therapy or specialists; medical transport; home travel; guardian or break housing; visa costs; airport hotels; storage or shipping; lessons, instruments, equipment, and trips.

The handbook prices dorm washers and dryers at $1.25 each but leaves most of those categories unpriced. For a distant family, travel and closure coverage can be material, not incidental.↗↗↗

Current official figures disagree. Taft’s facts and main aid pages say 35% of students receive $11 million across 204 grants, with average grants of $62,000 for boarders and $36,500 for day students; ‘204 grants’ is not necessarily the same as 204 recipients.

Its Fall 2027 application and FAQ say 34% and $10.5 million, while the 2026–27 profile says 33% receive aid. Different timing or definitions may explain the spread, but the school does not reconcile it.

Use these figures as scale only; an average award says nothing reliable about your family’s price.↗↗↗↗

Taft awards need-based aid only and says it meets 100% of its own calculation of demonstrated need for admitted students, including international students. It begins review need-blind but may consider need later if total demand exceeds the budget; international assistance is expressly limited.

In plain English: aid can affect admission, and ‘full need’ depends on Taft’s methodology, not the family’s preferred contribution.↗↗

Returning recipients reapply annually; Taft says aid is guaranteed for families who applied at admission and remain financially qualified. Families who enroll without aid must show a significant later change and are not guaranteed future funding.

Separated, divorced, and remarried families should expect separate Clarity applications and review of custodial, noncustodial, and stepparent resources.↗

One more source conflict needs care: the current Fall 2027 application says the aid deadline is February 1, 2027 and tax returns are due March 1; Taft’s detailed Clarity page still displays September 1, 2025, February 1, 2026, and March 10, 2026.

Follow the current application calendar, but ask Financial Aid which documents are due February 1 versus March 1 and retain the answer.↗↗

A clear deadline, with interview mechanics to confirm

Start with Taft’s required inquiry form; it creates the school’s admission account. Taft accepts either the Standard Application Online or Gateway to Prep Schools and says it has no preference.

The file is due January 15, 2027. Ask the current principal or counselor, English teacher, and math teacher for recommendations only after November 15; Taft wants them submitted by January 15.

An arts or other web portfolio and the Character Skills Snapshot are optional.↗↗

Gateway’s live Taft record also lists parent questions, candidate essays, current and previous grades, and a graded writing sample. Families should use the portal checklist as the controlling task list and ask Taft to resolve any difference between Gateway and the school’s own summary before submitting.↗↗

Taft offers an on-campus visit, online interview, or off-campus interview after the inquiry is filed; scheduling happens in the portal. Gateway calls the interview strongly recommended rather than required and lists a $50 domestic or $100 international application fee.

Taft publishes neither the interview duration, parent role, final interview date, nor evaluation criteria. Our advice is practical: book one, and ask the office to confirm the completion deadline in writing.

Domestic families may request a fee waiver in the portal, and the fee is not required before interviewing.↗↗↗↗

The deadline sequence is easy to miss if aid is involved: application January 15; financial-aid application February 1; tax returns March 1; decision March 10; and enrollment reply, contract, and deposit by April 10. For an international student, the I-20 process depends on that signed contract and deposit.

Revisit dates are still ‘to be announced.’ Put every date in one family calendar and leave time for portal and missing-item checks.↗

Taft reports 1,650 new-student applications and 189 new students enrolled. Those numbers describe volume, not an admit rate: enrolled students are not offers, and the school publishes neither offers nor yield.

It also gives no applicant or acceptance counts by entry grade, boarding/day status, nationality, gender, aid need, or waitlist. Any precise ‘chance’ built from these public numbers would be invented.↗

Required for everyone—and contradictory for some international applicants

Taft requires standardized testing from every applicant. Its main Fall 2027 page accepts the SSAT or ISEE for Grades 9 and 10; SSAT, PSAT, SAT, or ACT for Grade 11; and PSAT, SAT, or ACT for Grade 12 or postgraduate applicants.

Gateway additionally lists the ISEE and PACT for Grade 11 and the PACT for Grade 12 and PG. Confirm those broader options before choosing one.

Taft lists paper SSAT dates of October 10, November 14, and December 12, 2026, and January 9, 2027, plus at-home testing information. SSAT code: 7600.↗↗↗

The international FAQ says something narrower: all international Grade 9 and 10 applicants must take the SSAT; it does not offer the ISEE there. That conflicts with the general application page, which expressly says the at-home ISEE is available from any country.

If an international child wants to use the ISEE, send Taft the test name and entry grade and keep the office’s written answer before paying or preparing.↗↗

Taft says last year’s admitted students had a median SSAT at the 87th percentile. A median is not an average, a minimum, or a prediction for an individual child.

The school publishes no middle-50% band or score distribution by grade, testing format, domestic/international status, or admission result. Use the number as context, not a manufactured cutoff.↗

If English is not the applicant’s primary language, Taft highly recommends TOEFL, IELTS, or Duolingo and says it looks for TOEFL 105+, IELTS 7.5+, or Duolingo 140+. These are stated preferences, not published eligibility cutoffs.

TOEFL code: 3834. ETS moved TOEFL to a 1–6 scale in January 2026 but, during a two-year transition, score reports also show a comparable 0–120 result; Taft still states 105 on that older scale.↗↗

Gateway says the English-proficiency test is not required after at least three years at a school where English is the primary language of instruction. Taft’s own page does not state that exception in the same way.

A family relying on it should ask Taft to confirm eligibility in writing.↗↗

Ninth grade is the cleanest on-ramp; later entry needs paperwork

Taft says it prefers applicants entering Grades 9, 10, or 11 and sometimes admits a postgraduate. A Grade 9 student must turn 14 during that school year.

Gateway nevertheless lists Grade 12 boarding and day applications for Fall 2027. That proves an application route exists, not that senior openings are plentiful; ask for the actual Grade 12 seat count and graduation map.↗↗↗

The current class counts—115 ninth graders, 140 sophomores, 170 juniors, and 167 seniors—are consistent with later entry, but cross-sectional cohort sizes cannot show how many students were added or left. Taft’s stated entry preferences establish that later-grade admission occurs.

The counts do not reveal Fall 2027 seats, attrition, or boarding/day openings, and the senior figure is not separately broken out from postgraduates.↗

For a Grade 10 or 11 transfer, the decisive document is a written remaining-years map: which credits Taft recognizes, language and math placement, whether US history fits, how the annual arts requirement works, which desired advanced courses can actually be scheduled, and whether off-campus study remains possible.

Taft publishes a 36-unit graduation framework but not a public transfer-credit rulebook. Do not wait until after April 10 to discover a sequencing problem.↗↗

A one-year PG family should ask a different set of questions: whether the student earns a Taft diploma, exactly which requirements apply, how PGs are housed and advised, whether they are counted with seniors, and how college counseling differs for a student arriving with an existing transcript and application timetable.

None of those operational details is sufficiently explained on the public admissions pages.↗↗

Our readConfidence: High

Our read: Taft is strongest when structure feels like care

Taft’s value proposition is unusually coherent. Long classes, afternoon participation, device separation, evening study, grade-based dorm routines, and adults embedded across roles all push students toward engagement.

For a teenager who wants a lively, ambitious home base and will seek help, that can be deeply formative.

The same coherence creates the main fit risk. There is limited room to disappear, preserve a highly individual schedule, or treat boarding as a hotel around outside priorities.

Saturday obligations, formal permissions, room checks, phone rules, and vacation closures are part of the school—not inconveniences around it.

Choose your next step

Where to verify and keep reading

We favor direct links to the exact page or document a family may need next. Access dates matter because admissions, tuition, leadership, and programs change.

  • Apply to Taft

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Current Fall 2027 entry preferences, required tests, SSAT dates and median, application components, deadlines, fee waivers, optional materials, and aid summary.

  • Taft School Fall 2027 Application

    Gateway to Prep Schools · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Live Fall 2027 application categories, fees, interview recommendation, required materials, testing options, and English-proficiency exception; several details are broader than Taft’s own page.

  • Plan Your Visit

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · On-campus, online, and off-campus interview scheduling plus visit logistics; it does not state whether an interview is mandatory.

  • International Students

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · International testing, no-ESL policy, limited aid, I-20 timing, orientation, no midyear entry, fee waivers, and the 48-hour pickup rule.

  • Tuition, Fees, and Other Costs

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · 2026–27 boarding and day tuition, estimated books and spending, deposit and payment-plan context, and lack of technology or graduation fees.

  • Affording Taft

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Current $11 million/35% aid headline, fee-waiver eligibility, and the stated full-need commitment for admitted students.

  • Financial Aid Frequently Asked Questions

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Need-aware late review, no-merit policy, renewal, later requests, international limits, two-household policy, and conflicting $10.5 million/34% figures.

  • How to Apply for Financial Aid

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Clarity instructions and fee; the page still displays 2025–26 cycle dates, which conflict with the current Fall 2027 application page.

  • Taft by the Numbers

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Live enrollment, boarding/day, grade, international, faculty, course, application, aid, financial, and 2020–24 matriculation figures.

  • 2026–27 School Profile

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Current curriculum, course levels, grading and transcript policies, graduation requirements, accreditation statement, and 2024–26 college destinations.

  • 2026–27 Student Handbook

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Current advising, support, accommodations, leave, health, phones, permissions, vacations, safeguarding, discipline, academics, residential life, day status, travel, and student-expense policies.

  • 2026–27 Academic Calendar

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Current arrivals, classes, closed weekends, long weekends, major vacations, commencement, and departure dates.

  • Academics and Daily Academic Schedule

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Fall 2026 schedule redesign, 70-minute blocks, variable Wednesday/Saturday program, course breadth, flexible time, and graduation requirements.

  • Moorhead Academic Center

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Learning-strategy services, peer tutoring, screening, documented accommodations, staff, and limits on automatic transfer of prior accommodations.

  • Living on Campus

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Residential philosophy, dorm-monitor role, director of residential life, and publicly described adult supports.

  • Resident Faculty

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Faculty apartments in all dorms, meetings, Friday feeds, mentoring, rule enforcement, and Student Life coordination.

  • Weekends at Taft

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · School description of most Saturdays as academic, afternoon athletics, day participation, leave, activities, and termly long weekends.

  • Afternoon Program

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Three-season participation, grade-level balance, community and individual categories, exemptions, and outside-team restrictions.

  • Arts Course Offerings

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Current visual, performing, music, film, theater, and dance course listings; listings do not guarantee scheduling or access.

  • Athletics

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Current athletics, teams, schedules, facilities, coaches, and program links; no roster or playing-time guarantees.

  • Martin Health Center

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · 24/7 in-session nursing, ten-bed infirmary, outside-care boundary, hospitals, insurance rules, international plan, medical costs, and current staff.

  • Counseling Services

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Current counselor roster, weekday and on-call access, fees, privacy and parent notice, crises, prescribing boundary, and outside-care coordination.

  • College Counseling

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · College-counseling philosophy and process; no applicant-level admission, persistence, or subgroup outcomes.

  • EthicsPoint Reporting

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Third-party confidential and optional anonymous channel for policy, handbook, conduct, and ethics concerns.

  • Trustees

    The Taft School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Current board roster, chair, Head of School membership, standing committees, and advisory committee members.

  • Taft School Full Filing, Fiscal Year Ending June 2024

    ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Public IRS Form 990 showing nonprofit governance information, including voting membership and reported independence.

  • Understanding TOEFL iBT Scores

    ETS · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Official January 2026 move to a 1–6 scale and two-year period in which reports also show a comparable 0–120 result.

  • The Taft School Reviews and Polls

    Niche · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Self-selected reviews and small polls used only as attributed anecdotal perspective, never as representative school-wide evidence.

  • Former School Teacher Sentenced to Five Years

    U.S. Attorney’s Office, District of Connecticut · Accessed September 3, 2026 · May 2014 sentencing facts; the federal release does not identify Taft or report contact abuse by the defendant.

  • Former Taft Teacher Receives Five-Year Sentence

    CT Insider / Register Citizen · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Contemporary identification of Taft employment, school response, home-computer facts, and prosecutors’ statement that there was no evidence of sexual contact with a child.

  • Sexual Abuse at St. George’s School and the School’s Response, 1970–2015

    Independent Investigator Martin F. Murphy, Foley Hoag · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Independent report used narrowly for its account of a 2011 reference call and Taft’s later statement; it is an investigation of St. George’s, not Taft.

  • ‘Go Back to Africa’ Found Written Inside Watertown School

    News 12 Connecticut · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Local reporting on 2018 hate messages and Taft’s decision to cancel classes for school-wide discussions.

  • Black Students of Elite Private Schools Have Found a Space to Speak Out

    EdSurge · Accessed September 3, 2026 · 2020 reporting on anonymous Black@Taft testimony, a 935-alumni letter, and the board response; accounts are lived perspective, not adjudicated findings or current climate data.