School
Independent · coeducational · K–9

Day enrollment spans K–9; five-day and seven-day boarding are offered only in Grades 7 through 9.

Fall 2027 boarding eligibility
Grades 7 · 8 · 9

The current application page does not give open-seat counts by grade or boarding type.

International priority date
December 15, 2026

International applications submitted after this date are reviewed on a rolling basis if space remains.

New-family aid deadline
January 15, 2027

Families who complete both applications on time are told they will receive admission and aid decisions by March 10.

Published scale
475 students · 150 boarders

The 475 spans K–9; the roughly 150 boarders are within the Grades 7–9 Upper School.

Grade 9 entry
Up to 10 new students yearly

The school does not specify how many of these spots go to day students versus boarders.

Five-day boarding
10 students total · U.S. families only

Fall 2027 availability by grade is not stated on the current program page.

2026–27 domestic boarding
$75,200–$88,130

This is tuition only. Seven-day boarders also pay a mandatory $1,422 laundry fee; Fall 2027 rates are not yet published.

2026–27 international boarding
$87,500–$96,510

Tuition varies by grade and ELP placement; travel and, when existing coverage is not approved, Fay’s medical plan cost extra.

Published residential staffing
About 40 adults live on campus

The cited public pages do not state awake-overnight staffing or active-duty ratios.

How the school is organized and run

Fay says it was founded in 1866 with seven students and was the first junior boarding school in the United States. That history helps explain the school’s unusually narrow residential focus, but longevity is context rather than evidence of present-day fit or supervision quality.↗↗

Fay is operated as a Massachusetts educational nonprofit called Fay School, Inc., governed by a Board of Trustees. Susanna Waters has led the school as Head of School since July 2024.↗↗↗

Fay is accredited by the Association of Independent Schools in New England (AISNE). As an independent school, its leadership operates under trustee oversight rather than a public district; AISNE supplies an external accreditation framework, not day-to-day governance.↗↗↗

School pages and the AISNE directory report 475 total K–9 students and about 150 boarders, all within Grades 7–9. The cited pages do not break those boarders down by grade, gender, home country, English-language status, or five-day versus seven-day enrollment.↗↗

Fay’s English Language Program page describes 275 day and boarding students in the Upper School. Subtracting the separately published figure of 150 boarders implies roughly 125 Upper School day students, but both are schoolwide headline figures rather than a dated grade-by-grade census.↗↗

Interviews, campus visits, and testing requirements

Admissions interviews for Fall 2027 begin on September 15, 2026. Before scheduling, families must submit the Family and Student Profile.

The general boarding page does not state the interview length, participants, or evaluation criteria; the separate prior-cycle mainland China page describes a student-only Zoom interview of about 30 minutes followed by an optional parent conversation.↗↗

SSAT and ISEE testing is completely optional for all Upper School applicants. Keep in mind that 'optional' does not tell us how many applicants still submit scores, or how much weight admissions places on them when submitted.↗

International applicants whose primary language is not English, or who have been educated primarily outside the U.S., must submit the TOEFL or TOEFL Junior. Fay does not accept Duolingo or IELTS scores.↗↗

Fay offers one-hour campus tours on weekdays, available both in person and virtually. Weekend tours are not offered.

While a daytime tour gives you a feel for campus, it cannot show you what evening dorm life and study hall really feel like.↗↗

Before paying a deposit, ask to speak with a current boarding family without an admissions officer present. Request a dorm-floor visit, a look at the bathrooms, and an explanation of evening study.

Your child should also have an age-matched student conversation.↗↗↗

Is your child truly ready to board at this age?

Your child should have a real, meaningful say in choosing boarding school. A classic clinical report from the American Academy of Pediatrics found that younger age, little prior experience away from home, and having little say in the decision increase homesickness risk.↗

The AAP recommended practice stays away from home, familiarizing children with the new campus, building concrete coping strategies, and setting healthy communication habits. While that report is older, its practical advice remains very helpful for families today.↗

In practical terms, a ready middle schooler can shower, manage laundry pickup, organize belongings, and wake up on time. They can share a room, name their medication, tolerate correction, and ask an unfamiliar adult for help.↗↗↗

Emotional readiness is just as essential. Your child will need to bounce back from social bumps, respect a roommate's personal space, share feelings when feeling homesick, and understand that parents cannot instantly fix every evening challenge from afar.↗↗

Parents have an adjustment of their own to make. You will need to feel comfortable with limited phone windows, school-managed weekend leaves, dorm staff managing minor illnesses, and hearing emotional bedtime calls without stepping in directly.↗↗↗

Boarding should not be used as treatment for family conflict, severe school refusal, active substance use, unmanaged eating concerns, or clinical distress. Fay’s counselors explicitly do not provide psychotherapy.↗↗

Who lives in the dorms and how supervision works

Fay reports that roughly 40 faculty and staff members live right on campus alongside boarding students. In each gender-separated dormitory, faculty apartments are located directly on every residential floor.↗↗↗

Live-in dorm parents serve as the primary caregivers during evenings and weekends. Fay says each spends two or three days per week on the floor, and that associated dorm parents add coverage; it does not define that sentence as a complete duty rota.↗

The number of adults who live on campus is not the number simultaneously on duty. The cited residential pages do not provide floor enrollment, active-duty ratios, nighttime-round frequency, awake overnight staffing, response-time standards, or substitute coverage.↗↗↗

A designated Duty Administrator is available by phone to handle after-hours and overnight emergencies. Having an administrator on call is reassuring, but it does not tell parents who is physically walking the halls, checking rooms, or documenting nighttime issues.↗

Boys live in double or triple rooms. Younger girls and many Grade 8 girls have roommates.

Public pages do not explain single-room criteria, room changes, bathroom privacy, gender-diverse housing, or accessibility.↗↗

What a typical weekday looks like for boarders

A typical weekday begins with a 6:45 a.m. wake-up and wraps up with lights out at 9:45 p.m. In between, students move through classes, teacher extra help, afternoon sports, supervised dorm downtime, family-style dinners, evening study hall, and free time.↗

Fay sets clear windows for phone use. On weekdays, boarders can use their phones from 4:30 to 6:00 p.m. and again from 8:30 to 9:15 p.m. Phones are also allowed on weekends and while traveling to or from campus, and each phone must be registered with Residential Life.↗

Dorm common-room phones give students another way to call home. The ninth-grade page promises later technology turn-in, but neither page explains how that changes the standard phone windows.

Public details also stop short of confiscation, monitoring, social-media, smartwatch, gaming, VPN, and parent-emergency rules.↗↗

Every student in Grades 7 through 9 receives a school-issued Chromebook. Personal phones and computers are strictly put away during the academic day, though students may use their own personal laptop or tablet in the dorm during evening free hours.↗

Upper School dress is formal. Students wear a navy or black blazer, specified tops and bottoms, and dress shoes.

Students identifying as male also wear ties. Families should budget for duplicates and growth.↗↗

Weekends on campus, leaves, and major break travel

Weekend trip choices are announced every Wednesday. While most outings have room for everyone, trips with limited tickets are filled on a first-come, first-served basis.

Every boarder is expected to participate, and Sundays include scheduled room cleaning and evening study hall.↗

Most regular weekend outings are covered by tuition, though overnight and ski outings usually carry extra fees. The weekend page gives no amounts, refund terms, aid policy, or sellout frequency; separate optional break-trip pages may link to their own pricing and registration materials.↗↗↗

The first two weekends and final weekend are closed, so all boarders stay on campus. After the first two weeks, boarders may leave on weeknights with local relatives or friends and parental permission, but must return for study hall.↗

The published 2026–27 calendar requires every boarder to leave for Thanksgiving, winter vacation, and spring break. Its return dates are November 30, January 5, and March 22; dorms remain open for the shorter February 11–15 long weekend.

These dates are context, not the still-unpublished 2027–28 calendar.↗

Exact travel dates for the 2027–28 school year are not yet published. You will want to plan ahead for airport trips, flights, local guardian stays, or vacation travel until the school releases its full calendar and confirms holiday closure dates.↗↗

Optional Fay Adventures do not necessarily cover an entire closure. In 2026–27, the Ireland trip ran March 5–13 while campus return was March 22, leaving participating students with more than a week still to arrange.

These trips cost extra, use an application process, and advertise a 7:1 student-to-chaperone ratio; that ratio is trip-specific, not a dorm or routine-weekend staffing figure.↗↗↗

How day students, five-day boarders, and full boarders mix

Five-day boarding is offered in Grades 7–9 but capped at ten students schoolwide. It is open only to U.S. families and not to students in Fay’s International Student Program; Fay recommends living within 150 miles.↗

Five-day boarders depart campus on Fridays between 4:30 and 6:00 p.m., and they return on Sunday afternoons between 4:30 and 5:30 p.m. During the week, they live in the same dorms and often share rooms with seven-day boarders.↗

Five-day students must stay for the second full fall weekend and the Friday night of spring Founders’ Weekend; the first full fall weekend is strongly encouraged. Those stays carry no added fee, while other weekend stays do.

The page also says per-term enrollment may be possible only if space remains after full-year boarders are placed.↗

Day students and boarders share classes, lunch, afternoon teams, and campus traditions. Fay says local families often invite boarders home for a day or weekend, but the cited public pages do not describe frequency, approval steps, background screening, transport, or overnight host standards.↗↗

Fay’s weekend web page mentions that 150 boarders are on campus each weekend. Because five-day students go home and seven-day boarders sometimes take weekend leaves, you should view that number as the overall program size rather than the exact headcount every Saturday.↗↗↗

For local day students, 2026–27 service is one morning-only route serving Chestnut Hill, Wellesley, and Natick. The annual fee is $4,630 for one child, is nonrefundable, and may receive aid on request only for families whose tuition assistance is at least 50%.

Routes are demand-based and may change for 2027–28.↗↗

Courses, homework, and what the academic pace looks like

The Upper School follows a six-day rotating schedule covering English, history, math, science, world languages, design and engineering in the Creators program, arts, music, wellness, and athletics. Math and world language classes group students by skill level.↗↗↗↗

Seventh graders take required drama and put on a Shakespeare showcase, while eighth grade introduces more elective choices. Ninth graders tackle high-school-level coursework in English, modern American history, biology, advanced math, world languages, and higher-level arts or design.↗↗↗

In ninth grade, students also balance campus leadership roles, secondary school visits, high school applications, and special class trips. Even a highly capable student will find that ninth grade requires strong organization and time management right from the start.↗↗↗

Evening study hall begins at 6:45 p.m. The cited academic and residential pages give no expected homework minutes, weekend load, late-work rules, assessment calendar, grade distributions, course-change rates, or boarder sleep data.↗↗↗

Regular effort marks keep study habits visible

Starting in third grade, Fay sends home effort marks every two weeks. The school uses these regular check-ins to help students reflect on their daily work habits and take personal responsibility for their learning.↗

Getting feedback every two weeks can help catch study struggles early before they become bigger problems. On the other hand, it can feel stressful for a perfectionistic child unless teachers and parents clearly separate effort from academic performance and personal behavior.↗↗↗

Public pages do not define the effort-mark scale, appeal process, consequences, parent reporting, or relationship to academic grades. Ask for a sample report and the thresholds that trigger support.↗

Leveled math and language classes can provide useful academic stretch. Fay says math placement considers independence, perseverance, and prior performance, but the cited pages do not provide a test rubric, a level-change process, or distinct placement data for new international or learning-supported students.↗↗↗↗

Available learning support and its practical limits

Fay’s Learning Services team includes learning specialists, a reading specialist, and a speech-language pathologist. In the Upper School, support focuses on executive functioning skills, big projects, math, writing, separate testing locations, and extended test time.↗

One-to-one sessions with a Learning Specialist occur during the school day, require documented learning needs, and cost extra. The current page does not give the fee, frequency, session limits, specialist caseloads, or capacity guarantees.↗

The school may recommend an outside neuropsychological or psychoeducational evaluation. Learning profiles and accommodations are shared with classroom teachers and advisors, but the public description does not say which residential, athletics, or trip staff receive or implement them.↗

Do not infer capacity from the broad Learning Services description if your child needs intensive remediation or daily one-to-one instruction. The same caution applies to specialized clinical schooling or guaranteed service minutes.↗

Daily emotional support, health care, and after-hours coverage

Fay’s school counselors help students navigate everyday middle school worries, friendship conflicts, family stress, and the transition to boarding life. They run wellness workshops and check in with students individually, but they explicitly do not provide ongoing psychotherapy.↗

Students who need ongoing psychotherapy are referred to outside community clinicians. While Fay coordinates with private therapists, its website does not explain local provider availability, transportation logistics, billing, confidentiality boundaries, or crisis response after school hours.↗↗

Fay’s Health Office includes four overnight rooms. Registered nurses work under a local doctor’s supervision, medications are administered through the office, and on-call nurses are available when it is closed.↗

If a boarder wakes up sick overnight, they notify the dorm parent on duty, who can call the on-call nurse. Fay may ask a local guardian or emergency contact to collect a student who needs care away from campus; specialist visits may be arranged locally, with transport and charges billed to the student account.↗

You will find conflicting information across Fay’s web pages regarding weekend health hours. The Health Office page lists weekend hours as 11:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., while the residential contact page lists 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. with on-call nursing from 4:00 to 10:00 p.m.↗↗

The Boarding FAQ gives a third formulation, saying a registered nurse is on duty daily from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. and overnight when necessary. Ask the Health Office for one written 2027–28 schedule distinguishing in-office, on-call, and overnight coverage.↗↗↗

A diverse student body and daily life together

Fay’s boarding community brings together students from across the United States and more than 20 different countries. Dorm roommates almost always come from different home countries or language backgrounds, turning cross-cultural learning into a natural part of daily life.↗↗↗

Fay’s equity statement centers on dignity, multiple perspectives, empathy, humility, and moral courage. Upper School students can join Community Connections, a student-led and faculty-advised inclusion group.↗

Family-style dinners, dorm living, color-team competitions, advisory groups, and shared weekends create constant social connection. At the same time, this close-knit environment can magnify friendship drama, language cliques, or bullying concerns if a child struggles to find their footing.↗↗↗↗

As of September 3, 2026, Niche displayed a 4.4 rating from 28 reviews: 22 five-star, two four-star, one three-star, no two-star, and three one-star ratings. Visible favorable posts praise teachers, growth, and international friendships; one recent parent post alleges hostility toward Chinese families.

That allegation is one reviewer’s unverified account, not an established finding or prevalence measure.↗↗

Niche reviews are self-selected, mix different years and roles, and are not specific to current boarders. They do not establish causation or frequency and are not verified incident data.

Use their themes only to form questions for age-matched current families about social friction, language mixing, reporting, response times, and follow-through.↗↗

How arts and daily sports fit into the routine

Every Upper School student takes part in afternoon sports every day of the school year. All students must play on at least one interscholastic team each year, while intramural sports and non-competitive activities provide options during other terms.↗↗↗

Private music lessons cost $63 for 45 minutes, occur once per ten-day academic rotation in place of a study hall, and require a full-term commitment. Aid recipients are eligible for lesson aid, but the public page gives no award amount or guarantee.↗↗

English language support, visas, and holiday travel

Fay provides support for international families with student visa paperwork, travel planning, course scheduling, and secondary school placement. However, the school website does not outline detailed I-20 processing timelines, SEVIS rules, or tuition refund policies if a visa is denied.↗

Students in the English Language Program take specialized English literature, American history, and inquiry courses. At the same time, they join mainstream classes for math, science, art, music, engineering, wellness, daily sports, meals, and dorm life.↗↗

Most ELP students start in Grade 7 or 8, aiming to join mainstream humanities classes by Grade 9. Placement considers written and spoken English, school record, and test scores, but the ELP page gives no formal exit benchmark, typical duration or growth data, or ELP-specific secondary placements.↗

Fay describes Southborough as 25 miles from Boston, but proximity does not make airport transport an included service. For breaks, families book and pay one of two listed private companies for Boston Logan or New York JFK and enter the plan in REACH.↗↗↗

The Boarding FAQ says students traveling alone are met at local terminals by an adult chaperone and that Residential Life coordinates transportation and unaccompanied-minor needs. The transport page instead directs parents to book vendors themselves.

Ask in writing who owns each segment and handoff: Fay staff, vendor driver, airline personnel, local guardian, or family.↗↗

There is a discrepancy on the website for Chinese families. General pages accept Fall 2027 applications for Grades 7 through 9.

However, the mainland China page still reflects 2026–27, limits entry to Grades 7–8, and requires a TOEFL score of 95 or TOEFL Junior of 860 before booking an interview.↗↗

Families applying from China should contact admissions directly to confirm Fall 2027 grade eligibility, minimum testing scores, interview steps, visa timelines, guardian rules, refund policies, and holiday break arrangements.↗↗↗↗

How to compare Fay with other boarding options

Take a look at our boarding-school guide to compare different residential models, dorm supervision, separation readiness, holiday travel, and true costs.

Explore our New England boarding school comparison to see how junior boarding schools compare with traditional four-year high schools across the region.

Read our Eaglebrook School guide to see how another well-known junior boarding school approaches dorm life, campus culture, and an all-boys environment.

Our Santa Catalina School guide shows how entering a four-year high school in ninth grade offers long-term academic and social continuity.

Check our Boston private school guide if you are balancing boarding applications with local Greater Boston day school options.

Browse all of our school guides once you have clarified your family's preferences for location, grade span, learning support, and your child’s boarding readiness.

Tuition, financial aid, and extra out-of-pocket costs

For 2026–27, seven-day domestic boarding tuition is $83,620 in Grade 7, $85,880 in Grade 8, and $88,130 in Grade 9. Adding the mandatory $1,422 laundry fee produces a minimum billed total of $85,042, $87,302, or $89,552 before other extras.↗

Five-day domestic boarding tuition is $75,200 for Grade 7, $77,460 for Grade 8, and $79,710 for Grade 9. International boarding tuition is $87,500, $89,760, and $92,010 across the same grades.↗

For international students who also need English Language Program support, tuition is $92,010 in Grade 7, $94,270 in Grade 8, and $96,510 in Grade 9. Upper School day-student tuition is $49,550, $51,810, and $54,060.↗

Fay’s comprehensive tuition covers books and supplies, meals, local and programmatic trips, athletics, dorm housing, supervision, and regular evening and weekend activities. Rates for Fall 2027 have not yet been released.↗

Families should still budget for expenses beyond tuition: mandatory seven-day laundry ($1,422), optional ski and break trips, private lessons, extra five-day weekend stays, travel, uniforms, learning-specialist or medical charges, and personal spending. International students without coverage approved by Fay’s carrier must also buy the school medical plan; no price is posted.↗↗↗↗↗↗

For 2026–27, Fay says it will award more than $5.5 million in need-based aid, with grants ranging from 5% to 95% of tuition. It says no family receives full aid and international aid is limited.↗

Fay uses Clarity, which charges $60 unless a family qualifies for a waiver. In divorce or separation, custodial and noncustodial parents file separately and stepparent assets are considered.

Returning recipients receive priority, and late aid is described as rare.↗

Aid can sometimes help with non-tuition school costs, but that help is not guaranteed. Fay says international families must cover travel and other school expenses in addition to tuition; ask specifically about visa, insurance, local-guardian, break-housing, and personal costs rather than assuming any is covered.↗↗

A separate $20,000 Waldo B. Fay Scholarship is advertised for an accepted Grade 7–9 boarder whose parent works for an accredited U.S. college or university.

Ask whether it can be combined with need-based aid and how renewal works; the main aid page does not answer either question.↗

One aid-page date is plainly stale: the returning-family FAQ still says December 15, 2024. New Fall 2027 families have a separately stated January 15 aid deadline, but returning families should obtain their actual renewal date directly.↗↗

Fay describes the enrollment deposit as 10% of tuition due after aid and credits it to the first bill. Its tuition page also offers an optional Tuition Refund Plan for some covered withdrawals or dismissals; the public summary is not a substitute for the enrollment contract or plan exclusions.

Request an all-in estimate and read both before signing.↗↗

Where students can enter and how openings work

For Fall 2027, boarding applications are open for seventh, eighth, and ninth graders. Grade 7 is the first year a Fay student can live on campus; younger Fay students are day students.↗↗

In seventh grade, continuing Fay day students, newly enrolled day students, and new boarders all come together to form the class. The cited Grade 7 and application pages do not state a target class size or how seats are allocated among those groups.↗↗

Eighth grade is also an open entry year for boarding students. While Fay details a full eighth-grade academic program, it does not share how many new students it plans to add.

You will want to ask admissions directly if spots are open.↗↗

For ninth grade, Fay states that it admits up to ten new students each year. Keep in mind that ten is a maximum ceiling rather than a guarantee.

The school does not specify how those seats are split between day students, boarders, international applicants, or financial aid recipients.↗↗

Entering as a new ninth grader means arriving for Fay’s final year while immediately launching another high school search. In just nine months, a student has to make friends, adjust to dorm life, handle tough classes, earn teacher recommendations, and complete secondary school applications.↗↗↗

The Fall 2027 boarding page gives no applicant total, acceptance rate, yield, waitlist size, or grade-by-grade opening count. It explicitly tells rolling applicants to ask whether space exists in their child’s grade before submitting.↗

How rolling admissions and financial aid deadlines work

Fay reviews boarding applications on a rolling basis. International applicants seeking the first priority round must complete their full file by December 15, 2026; after that, review depends on space.↗

If you are applying for financial aid, the deadline for new families is January 15, 2027. Families who complete both admissions and aid applications by that date are told they will receive both decisions by March 10.↗↗

You can apply through Fay’s own online portal, the Gateway to Prep Schools application, or the Standard Application Online (SAO). Application fees are $50 for domestic families and $100 for international families.↗

Your application checklist includes parent and student questionnaires, a student personal statement, and official transcripts from current and prior school years. Fay also requires confidential recommendations from an English teacher, a math teacher, and a school administrator or counselor.↗

The cited pages give no formal priority deadline for domestic full-pay families, waitlist procedure, typical decision time, or rules for switching boarding types. The aid FAQ gives a 10% deposit formula, but the offer-specific amount, due date, and contract terms require confirmation.↗↗↗

The live site contains stale cycle language: the boarding application page says Fall 2027 applications are open but also refers to the passed Fall 2026 deadline, while the junior-boarding overview still carries an 'Apply for Fall 2026' link. Ask for written confirmation of current grade and boarding availability.↗↗

Our readConfidence: Medium

Our take: A thoughtful bridge to high school, if your child is truly on board

Fay’s advantage is how well the pieces fit together. Classes, study hall, athletics, meals, dorm adults, weekends, and secondary counseling form one middle-school system.

It is not a high-school program scaled down for younger students.

That coherence also concentrates risk. A weak roommate match, homesickness, bias concern, workload problem, or support mismatch follows a child through most of the day and week.

Choose your next step

Understand residential modelsBoarding-school guidesCompare junior and secondary boarding models, separation readiness, dorm supervision, phone policies, holiday travel, health services, and total costs.See the regional fieldNew England boarding schools comparedSee how junior boarding fits alongside traditional four-year New England boarding schools in terms of campus size, grade span, and admissions timelines.Compare another junior modelEaglebrook School parent guideCompare Fay’s coed program with Eaglebrook’s all-boys junior boarding model, looking closely at daily structure, campus culture, and costs.Compare four-year continuitySanta Catalina School parent guideLearn how starting boarding school in Grade 9 at a four-year secondary school compares to spending a single capstone ninth-grade year at Fay.Coordinate the applicationBoston private-school admissions guideOrganize your testing, campus visits, recommendations, financial aid deadlines, and day school options across Greater Boston.Understand the processSchool admissionsLearn how to build a thoughtful school list, understand real admissions odds, prepare your child, and manage application deadlines calmly.Keep building the listAll school guidesExplore our full collection of day, boarding, junior, and secondary school guides across independent, parochial, and specialized schools.Check our methodAdmissions Diary editorial standardsReview the site’s standards for sourcing, attribution, corrections, disclosures, and handling information gaps.

Where to verify and keep reading

We favor direct links to the exact page or document a family may need next. Access dates matter because admissions, tuition, leadership, and programs change.

  • Applying Grades 7–9: Boarding Students

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Fall 2027 eligibility, rolling review, international priority deadline, aid deadline, application forms, fees, teacher recommendations, interview timing, TOEFL guidelines, and legacy 2026 reference.

  • Admission Testing

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Optional ISEE and SSAT policy, international TOEFL testing requirements, school testing codes, and policy on Duolingo and IELTS.

  • Visiting Campus

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Virtual and in-person tour details, weekday schedule, self-guided tour options, and admissions office contact information.

  • Applicants from Mainland China

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Mainland China instructions from the 2026–27 cycle, including Grade 7–8 limits, minimum TOEFL scores, Zoom interview requirements, parent conversations, and the December 15 priority date.

  • 2026–2027 Fay School Tuition

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Tuition rates for day, five-day, seven-day, international, and ELP students; included items; mandatory laundry; health insurance; payment options; and tuition refund protection.

  • Affording Fay

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · 2026–27 aid budget, 5% to 95% award range, Clarity rules, deadlines, returning-family priority, international limits, deposit calculation, the $20,000 higher-education-family scholarship, and a stale 2024 renewal date.

  • Junior Boarding at Fay School

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Overview of the Grades 7–9 junior boarding model, 475 total students, 150 boarders, 25-mile Boston context, facilities, structure, and a stale Fall 2026 application link.

  • Boarding FAQ

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Live-in residential faculty, room assignments, phone policies, weekend leave, day student integration, break travel, closed weekends, dining, technology, and health office hours.

  • Living on Campus

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Gender-separated dormitories, faculty apartments, campus layout, daily weekday schedule, evening study hall, free time, and lights out.

  • Meet Our Dorm Parents

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Profiles of residential faculty living on campus with their families, highlighting teaching, coaching, and residential life roles.

  • Five-Day Boarding

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Ten-student program cap, U.S. family requirement, recommended 150-mile radius, Friday departure and Sunday return times, dorm integration, required weekend stays, and extra fees.

  • Weekends at Fay

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Weekend activity options, Wednesday signups, limited-ticket outings, participation expectations, Sunday study and room cleanup, day student visits, and extra-fee trips.

  • 2026–27 Travel Dates

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · REACH travel software, dorm closures for Thanksgiving, winter, and spring breaks, February long weekend access, mandatory departure times, and airport travel windows.

  • Transportation Services to and from Fay

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Shuttle partnerships for Boston Logan and New York JFK airports, family booking and payment procedures, and REACH travel registration.

  • School Break Programming

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Overview of optional mid-winter trips and one-week spring break excursions, destination history, and break coverage limitations.

  • Fay Adventures

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Optional vacation trips for 2026–27, extra fees, application requirements, stated 7:1 chaperone ratio, partner organizations, and the dates showing partial spring-break coverage.

  • International Community

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Countries represented in the student body, visa and travel assistance, ELP integration, mainstream class participation, and the transition goal for high school.

  • English Language Program

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · ELP curriculum, Upper School enrollment figures, course structure, advising, language expectations, placement, and the Grade 9 mainstream transition goal.

  • Upper School: Grades 7–9

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Six-day rotating schedule, academic curriculum, student advising, math and language placement, daily athletics, electives, community service, and class trips.

  • Grade Seven

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Seventh-grade curriculum, mix of returning and new students, academic placement, drama, engineering design, wellness, arts, and athletics.

  • Grade Eight

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Eighth-grade courses, elective offerings, wellness, arts, daily three-term athletics, and mandatory interscholastic team participation.

  • Grade Nine

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · High-school-level courses, advanced placement in math and languages, electives, independent research, wellness, arts, and athletics requirements.

  • Ninth Grade Program

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · School description of 60 to 70 rising ninth graders plus up to ten new ninth-grade entrants, leadership roles, added privileges, class trips, and secondary counseling.

  • Effort Marks

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Biweekly effort marks issued from Grade 3 onward, focusing on study habits and self-reflection, without published rubric scales or consequence policies.

  • Learning Services

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Learning specialist team, screening, neuropsychological evaluations, Upper School accommodations, testing support, paid individualized sessions, and student learning profiles.

  • Wellness

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · School counselors, wellness classes, peer support, daily problem-solving role, boundaries regarding ongoing psychotherapy, and outside provider referrals.

  • Health Office

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Four overnight rooms, nursing staff, supervising physician, hospital access, medication administration, sick-student pickup, billable local appointments and transport, and published hours.

  • Residential Life and Health Office Contact Information

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Office phone numbers, Duty Administrator emergency coverage, and weekend Health Office hours that conflict with the main health page.

  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Diversity statement, institutional commitments to empathy and moral courage, faculty development, and the Upper School Community Connections club.

  • The Spirit of Creativity

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Weekly studio art and music classes, theater and dance opportunities, creative media, art history, performances, and creative expression.

  • Upper School Music Courses

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Choir, handbells, band, string ensemble, jazz, music exploration, ensemble auditions, rehearsal expectations, and beginner access.

  • Private Music Lessons

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Instrumental offerings, 45-minute sessions once per ten-day rotation in place of study hall, $63 rate, full-term commitment, billing, recital, and aid eligibility.

  • Athletics at Fay School

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Seasonal sports offerings, more than 20 sports, 57 teams, ten intramurals, daily practices, no-cut philosophy, and capacity limits for tennis and squash.

  • School Dress Code

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Formal dress code for 2026–27 including blazers, shirts, ties, bottoms, dress shoes, gender guidelines, special-dress occasions, and second-hand sales.

  • New Student Checklist

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Prior-cycle day-student checklist covering enrollment timing, July handbook-link delivery, health forms, busing, and orientation; not a Fall 2027 boarding handbook.

  • Secondary School Counseling

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Secondary school placement timeline, high school visits, independent school outcomes, five-year matriculation list, top 30 destination schools, and later college lists.

  • Board of Trustees

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Board roster, Head of School, board officers, young alumni trustee, geographic locations, and alumni or family connections.

  • Head of School Welcome

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Susanna Waters welcome message, July 2024 leadership start, background in independent school residential and academic administration, and school vision.

  • Fay’s History

    Fay School · Accessed September 3, 2026 · School account of its junior-boarding history and its claim to be the first junior boarding school in the United States.

  • Fay School

    Association of Independent Schools in New England · Accessed September 1, 2026 · AISNE accreditation status, campus address, grade span, coed day and boarding model, 475 total students, 150 boarders, and school summary.

  • School Accreditation Handbook

    Association of Independent Schools in New England · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Accreditation standards, evaluation self-studies, public-interest complaint policies, school independence, and non-intervention in private disputes.

  • Fay School Inc

    ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · Accessed September 3, 2026 · IRS-derived summary of the June 2025 Form 990, including revenue, expenses, assets, liabilities, compensation, and a Schedule L disclosure flag.

  • Joint DESE/DCF Mandated Reporting Advisory

    Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Mandated reporting guidelines for private schools, immediate oral reports, written follow-ups, designated reporting agents, staff training, and legal protections.

  • Preventing and Treating Homesickness

    American Academy of Pediatrics, Pediatrics · Accessed September 1, 2026 · 2007 AAP clinical report discussing pediatric homesickness, planned time away from home, coping strategies, and parent guidance.

  • Fay School

    Niche · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Third-party snapshot showing 28 user reviews, a 4.4 overall rating, the star distribution, school-supplied profile information, and community feedback.

  • Fay School Reviews

    Niche · Accessed September 3, 2026 · Self-selected collection of 28 user reviews from different years and roles; individual claims are anecdotes rather than audited findings or prevalence data.

  • Transportation

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Morning-only 2026–27 bus service, Chestnut Hill and MetroWest route stops, contractor information, weather protocols, and age requirements.

  • 2026–27 Bus Pricing

    Fay School · Accessed September 1, 2026 · Annual bus fees, single-child and family rates, nonrefundable full-year agreements, and payment installment schedules.