Admissions and testing
The route is public; the current cycle and full checklist are not.
Forman’s preferred route is its own online application, hosted on a MyOneSchool portal. It also supports the Standard Application Online. The admissions page says the school works on a rolling basis, begins reviewing completed applications in December, and typically issues a decision within two weeks.
Current-cycle unknown: the public page does not label the application year. As of September 2, 2026, a family should not assume the live account is automatically a 2027–28 file. Rolling admission may also permit a late current-year inquiry, but no seat availability by grade, boarding status, or gender is published.
The clearest required document is educational testing completed within the last three years. Forman says it must contain a cognitive measure such as WISC or WAIS and an achievement measure such as WJ-IV or WIAT-III. The page does not say that SSAT or ISEE scores are required.
The phrase “educational testing” leaves an important technical question. A complete neuropsychological evaluation can include attention, language, memory, executive, social-emotional, and adaptive measures that a narrower psychoeducational report may not. Forman does not publicly say which report type is mandatory, which diagnostic instruments it expects, or whether an evaluator must update older testing.
The live page displays links labeled principal recommendation, English recommendation, math recommendation, and transcript request, but its explanatory text says those forms are for Summer Program applicants. We do not carry those labels forward as a current regular-school checklist. Families should use the checklist inside the correctly labeled admission portal.
| Admission item | What is public | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Application | Forman application or SAO | Live year, fee, supplements, and open grades |
| Calendar | Rolling; review begins in December | Which December, current-space policy, and aid timing |
| Educational testing | Within three years; cognitive plus achievement measures | Report type, subtests, diagnoses, and updates |
| Admission test | No official SSAT or ISEE requirement found | English testing and case-specific tests |
| Interview and visit | Both appear in the process | Sequence, participants, virtual option, and decision role |
There is a direct wording conflict. The apply page says Forman requires testing before scheduling a campus visit and interview. The visit page says the school “highly recommends” sending testing before a tour. That difference matters to families deciding whether to visit before completing an expensive evaluation.
A strong interview should test readiness, not produce a polished performance. The useful topics are how the student understands the learning profile, responds to feedback, uses support, handles a structured day, repairs conflict, and asks for help. Forman does not publish its interview length, rubric, or whether parent and student conversations are separate.
Fit before features
Forman publishes a narrower student profile than its broad learning-difference language may suggest.
The current student-profile page names average-to-above-average intellectual ability, dyslexia, dyscalculia, dysgraphia, auditory-processing delay or disorder, language and reading comprehension difficulty, ADHD or attention needs, and executive- function deficits. It also emphasizes readiness to access the curriculum Forman’s teachers are trained to deliver.
The page says students should have no significant social or emotional needs. It identifies nonverbal learning disability, autism, pervasive developmental disorder, developmental delay, and Social (Pragmatic) Communication Disorder as profiles that may be better served elsewhere. The FAQ separately says the school does not support behavioral and emotional difficulties.
Editorial inference: mild, stable anxiety or a history of school avoidance caused by academic mismatch may be evaluated differently from an active mood, safety, substance, or behavior condition. Yet the public line is broad enough that a family should not interpret “counselors on campus” as automatic clinical acceptance. Ask for a capacity conversation before travel or deposit.
Forman’s Quinn Assessment Center advertises diagnostic and psychoeducational evaluation, including assessment related to ASD, ADHD, anxiety, and learning disorders. It serves Forman families and the public. That is a separate evaluation service, not evidence that the school enrolls every profile the center can assess.
Do not solve a fit conflict with optimism. If a student’s success depends on social-communication programming, behavior containment, frequent psychotherapy, overnight clinical monitoring, or a highly modified curriculum, the family is asking Forman to operate outside its published model.
Learning and remediation
The curriculum names real methods—but families still need the dose.
Forman’s current model places Cognition & Learning inside the student’s academic schedule. A new student takes a year-long course selected for the individual profile. Later placement draws on the prior C&L teacher and other adults who know the student. This is structurally different from a traditional boarding school where a student leaves a mainstream class for an optional learning center or schedules help after difficulty appears.
Foundations of Literacy
The 2026–27 guide describes explicit, systematic structured literacy: phonemic awareness; syllable types; decoding multisyllabic words; encoding; morphology; cumulative review; repeated practice; corrective feedback; and visual, auditory, and kinesthetic teaching. That description is more useful than a broad promise to “meet students where they are.”
Forman’s flagship page also names Orton-Gillingham, Wilson, and Lindamood-Bell approaches. Those names do not establish that every literacy student receives one-to-one instruction, a certified practitioner, a particular protocol, or the intensity used in a clinical intervention study.
Reading and writing
Reading with a Critical Eye moves beyond basic decoding into comprehension, evidence, author viewpoint, bias, vocabulary, morphology, semantic mapping, and active reading. Academic Writing and Applied Writing use individualized, differentiated, and scaffolded process instruction with assistive technology.
A parent should ask whether writing support addresses transcription, spelling, sentence construction, planning, revision, or all of them. “Writing difficulty” can describe different bottlenecks, and a student may need a different mix of remediation and access tools.
Executive function
Metacognition and the Brain introduces new students to neuroscience, executive functioning, and self-understanding. Applying Executive Function Strategies works individually and in small groups on initiation, completion, long-term planning, organization, time, flexibility, and goals. The course deliberately uses current assignments and morning, study, and nighttime routines.
Year-long Executive Function Coaching is non-credit and addresses goals, action steps, roadblocks, accountability, task initiation, project breakdown, retention, emotion regulation, planning, and prioritizing. The public guide does not state which students receive coaching, the contact frequency, maximum group size, or whether a recurring slot is guaranteed.
| Published element | Why it matters | Missing delivery fact |
|---|---|---|
| Average class of eight | More visibility and adaptation | Actual section and remediation-group size |
| 4:1 student-teacher ratio | Signals a staff-intensive model | Direct-service minutes for this child |
| Named literacy methods | Shows a specific instructional vocabulary | Certification, fidelity, frequency, and outcome |
| Individual and small-group EF work | Connects strategy to current work | Group maximum, owner, and missed-session plan |
| Afternoon and evening study | Extends structure beyond class | Reserved tutoring versus first-come help |
The school’s tuition page says all services provided by learning specialists and tutors are included, while private tutoring costs extra. The handbook describes small-group evening help that may be first come, first served. Families need a written map separating a scheduled C&L course, assigned tutoring, open extra help, and paid private tutoring.
The schedule test
Support should appear on the timetable, not only in the philosophy.
Forman uses trimesters and extended blocks on alternating days. A student generally carries seven credits or courses per trimester. The school’s public daily rhythm begins with breakfast around 8 a.m., moves through four class blocks, afternoon study, athletics or recreation, dinner, free time, evening study, and a 10 p.m. lights-out.
The table below is our schedule-level interpretation of Forman’s published day. It is not a promise that every student follows these exact minutes. Its purpose is to expose who owns support at each transition.
| Part of day | Published structure | Parent analysis |
|---|---|---|
| Morning | Breakfast, attendance, house routines | Ask who notices missed waking, medication, materials, or arrival. |
| Academic blocks | Four extended blocks; seven-course load | Fewer transitions may help; long blocks need active design. |
| Cognition & Learning | Year-long first-year course | Support is schedulable but may compete with another course. |
| Afternoon study | Monday–Thursday, proctored and EF-informed | Clarify intervention, coursework triage, or independent work. |
| Athletics or recreation | After class through three seasons | Belonging can help; travel may compress homework. |
| Dinner and free time | Community meal and transition | Academic, social, and medication strain may become visible. |
| Evening study | 7:45–8:45 p.m. Monday–Thursday | Help exists; a reserved tutor is not promised. |
| After lights-out | Phone ban, dorm staff, and AOD | Ask who is present and how a student reaches help. |
The schedule’s strength is repetition: the same organization and initiation skills can be taught in C&L, used in afternoon study, reinforced in evening study, and tested in the dorm. Its risk is over-scaffolding. A family should ask how the school measures independence and deliberately removes prompts before college.
The FAQ publishes older afternoon and evening study times than the 2026–27 handbook. We use the dated current handbook for this guide. Families should still confirm the student’s actual schedule at enrollment because seasonal and grade-level routines can change.
Math, language, and advanced work
A broad course ladder does not answer every remediation question.
Mathematics
The 2026–27 catalog spans Pre-Algebra; regular and honors Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II, and Precalculus; Calculus Honors; daily Advanced Calculus Honors; probability, statistics, and personal finance. That breadth can preserve progression for a student whose reading or EF needs coexist with mathematical strength.
The unresolved issue is dyscalculia. The student-profile page names it, but the current catalog does not identify a dyscalculia-specific methodology, diagnostic-prescriptive math lab, or guaranteed individual intervention. A lower course placement may make content accessible without repairing number sense, fact retrieval, symbolic reasoning, or procedural memory.
Speech and language
Forman also names auditory-processing and language-comprehension needs. Yet the current curriculum, FAQ, handbook, and staff categories reviewed for this guide do not disclose a student speech-language therapy program. That absence from public materials is not proof that no consultation exists; it is an important unknown.
Ask whether a licensed SLP provides direct service, consultation, assessment, or referrals. Also ask how teachers address receptive language, word retrieval, oral formulation, auditory fatigue, and noisy group settings—and how those needs are separated from the school’s explicit social-pragmatic exclusion.
Honors, college-level work, and course availability
Honors offerings appear in English, history, science, and mathematics. UConn Early College Experience English can carry university credit for a small fee. Advanced Calculus Honors is described as college-level. Tropical Ecology Honors includes a Costa Rica component, an application or interview, and family-paid travel.
The current catalog does not advertise a broad conventional AP program. That is not a verdict on rigor. It means a student who needs multiple named AP courses, a specific sequence, or a large advanced peer group should build an actual multi-year schedule and ask which sections will run at a small school.
Graduation and diploma levels
Current graduation requirements include 12 English credits; nine mathematics credits or work through Algebra II; nine history and social-science credits including U.S. history; nine science credits including six laboratory credits and biology or chemistry; three C&L credits; three postsecondary-planning credits; six art credits; annual health and physical education, Winterim, and 15 service hours. Six world-language credits are strongly recommended, not required.
| 2026–27 credential | Published minimum | Parent question |
|---|---|---|
| High Honors | 72 credits, cumulative 90, grade floors, advanced-study conditions, two Forman years | Which courses satisfy the advanced conditions? |
| Honors | 66 credits, cumulative 85, grade floors, two Forman years | How do transfer and reclassification affect eligibility? |
| Standard | 60 credits and cumulative 60 | How is the diploma level shown to colleges? |
Postgraduate year
The PG plan includes a PG advisor, UConn ECE English, three trimesters of EF Coaching, College Classroom, postsecondary planning, HPE, Winterim, service, and other courses. Students may take up to two outside college courses. Cohort housing is available only if enrollment and space allow.
Families should ask whether a PG receives a diploma, certificate, or transcript notation; how college courses fit transportation and study; whether aid is available; and whether Forman reports PG placement separately from seniors. None of those details is clear enough in the current public record.
Life beyond remediation
Students still need affinity, competence, and a place to be known for more than a diagnosis.
The current curriculum includes ceramics, painting, digital art, metalsmithing, architecture, culinary arts, photography and darkroom work, acting, theater, instrumental and vocal ensembles, and electronic music. The performing-arts page advertises six theater classes and three annual productions, including comedy, drama, and musical work with open auditions.
Private music lessons are an additional charge and do not earn credit. A serious artist should ask about studio access outside class, private-lesson availability, portfolio mentoring, production roles, rehearsal conflicts, and whether required C&L or athletics constrains the desired sequence.
The live athletics page lists alpine skiing, baseball, basketball, crew, cross-country, golf, lacrosse, soccer, tennis, volleyball, whitewater kayaking, and wrestling. Recreational choices include boatbuilding, CrossFit, culinary, equestrian, fitness, music, robotics, skiing and snowboarding, theater, the winter musical, and yearbook.
The 2026–27 handbook requires three seasons of athletics or activity participation and says no sport is guaranteed. The FAQ mentions offerings that are not fully aligned with the current sports page. Treat a team as real only when Forman confirms it for the student’s season, level, and year.
For many learning-different adolescents, afternoon competence is not an extra. A boat shop, darkroom, stage, kitchen, mountain, or team can reset a school identity formed around academic struggle. The parent question is whether that affinity survives the timetable, not whether it appears in a catalog.
Day and boarding life
The residential model extends executive function across the whole week.
Forman reports 15 small dormitories and roughly 85% boarding. Standard rooms house two same-sex students, with some singles and triples. Public descriptions list twin XL beds, desks, dressers, closets, shared mini-fridges, and common areas. Two “dorm parents” live with each house, often while also teaching or coaching.
Two resident adults per dorm does not answer overnight coverage. Public sources do not state how many students live in each house, whether an adult is awake, who substitutes, what training is required, or how quickly a clinically qualified person can respond. Those are operational questions, not criticisms.
Study and room routines
Afternoon study runs Monday–Thursday and is described as proctor- guided and informed by executive-function practice. Evening study runs 7:45–8:45 p.m. Monday–Thursday in the current handbook. Honors may change study expectations. Small-group tutoring, disciplinary extra help, and open study spaces are available, while private tutoring costs extra.
Houseparents inspect rooms Sunday–Thursday. Repeated room failures can lead to weekend gating. That policy may give a student with organization needs an external routine; it may also feel punitive if the underlying skill is not explicitly taught. Ask how staff distinguish inability, avoidance, and defiance.
Phones and devices
Students register phones, keep them silent or off, and place them in classroom phone boxes. Use is prohibited during community and advisor lunch, assemblies, practices and games, formal meals, study hall, and after lights-out. The policy does not say every phone is physically collected or locked overnight.
A family should ask about laptops, watches, gaming, dorm Wi-Fi, repeated violations, accessibility apps, and how the rule works for international students in distant time zones. “No phone after lights-out” and “no device access after lights-out” are different residential systems.
Weekends, leave, and travel
Students use Orah for check-in, check-out, and passes. Parent and host approval may be required; weekend or overnight requests are normally due Thursday. Students cannot generally miss Saturday games or required activities. Closed and TReK weekends restrict leave, and campus departure is required at designated breaks.
Forman arranges break transportation to Bradley International Airport and Bridgeport train station. Families buy tickets and pay travel costs. The school says recurring off-campus appointments cannot depend on guaranteed faculty transportation and are handled case by case.
Day students are attached to a house, not simply a parking lot
Day students receive a house-family assignment and locker, may attend meals, can stay through evening check-in, and may join weekend activities. They check in through Orah, remain through the academic day and normally athletics, and cannot leave midday without permission. Their vehicles are for commuting, not casual town trips or transporting peers.
Editorial inference: this is a more integrated day model than a conventional commuter high school. It can also create a long, tiring week and make the family car central to every outside appointment. Compare day and boarding as different operating plans, not merely different prices.
Health, counseling, and medication
Forman provides school-based care, with clear limits on intensity and duration.
Medical care
The 2026–27 handbook lists Student Health Center hours of 7:30 a.m. to 10 p.m. Monday–Friday and 9 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. on weekends. Nurses provide minor-illness care and initial emergency response; a consulting physician visits weekly. The center is not a primary- care practice, does not perform physicals, and does not provide overnight or extended-illness care.
After hours, the school may use Charlotte Hungerford Hospital, urgent care, 911, school drivers, and its administrator-on-duty system. A student too ill to remain in a dorm but not needing hospitalization must generally go home or to an emergency contact. Outside care, diagnostics, treatment, transport, and medication are family-paid.
Counseling and outside treatment
Individual counseling is available and may be mandated. The current public team includes licensed mental-health professionals. Some students retain a therapist at home, and the school can help schedule outside care. Forman may require an evaluation or ongoing therapy as a condition of continued enrollment and may require a reciprocal release for information sharing.
The public record does not give routine session frequency, caseload, after-hours clinician response, psychiatric access, or how long a student can receive recurring school counseling. “Available to all” does not establish weekly long-term therapy capacity.
Medication
Forman generally requires Petricone Pharmacy. Prescription drugs, over-the-counter medication, vitamins, and supplements are held and administered by school staff, with limited self-carry exceptions such as inhalers and specified topical, hormonal, or specialty medicines. Medication authorization is required for each product, and dose changes must be provided in writing.
Controlled prescriptions require advance planning. International students need a U.S.-licensed prescriber. Bedtime medicines may be stored in locked dorm cabinets. Families pay pharmacy and medication charges. The handbook states that students may not remain at Forman while refusing medication that has been prescribed.
Leave, crisis, and return
Medical or mental-health leave is generally short—roughly two weeks under the current policy. Health or counseling approval is required before leave and return, and the school may require a physician or mental-health letter and further assessment. A returning student must be ready to resume classes.
Substance responses can include evaluation, counseling, random testing, suspension, or dismissal. The handbook lists a required substance evaluation at a family cost of $150 in relevant cases and provides an amnesty route when a student seeks help before an investigation begins.
Therapeutic boundary: counselors, medication administration, a DBT-skills elective, and crisis procedures do not make Forman a therapeutic boarding school. The published fit exclusions, lack of overnight nursing, short leave window, and reliance on outside treatment point to an academically specialized model for clinically stable students.
Cost, aid, and contract risk
The 2026–27 sticker price is clear. The family-specific all-in price is not.
Boarding tuition is $98,592 for 2026–27 and includes room, board, and services provided by learning specialists and tutors. Day tuition is $80,600 and includes “board” plus those school-provided services. Private tutoring is explicitly additional.
The day page’s use of “board” is ambiguous. Families should ask whether it includes breakfast, lunch, dinner, weekend meals, and meals during required late stays. Do not infer meal coverage from the boarding-school meaning of the word.
| Cost category | Published position | Parent treatment |
|---|---|---|
| Boarding tuition | $98,592 for 2026–27 | Dated benchmark; 2027–28 unknown |
| Day tuition | $80,600 including “board” | Get a written meal and late-day definition |
| School support | Learning specialists and tutors included | Separate scheduled, drop-in, assigned, and private help |
| Private tutoring | Additional charge | Price likely weekly use for the year |
| Outside care | Generally family-paid | Include providers, transport, medication, and labs |
| Winterim and travel | Some trips and deposits extra | Use the current trip sheet |
| College credit and lessons | UConn fee and private music extra | Ask about materials and lesson charges |
| Deposit and payment plan | Inside enrollment process | Unknown until contract review |
Financial aid
Forman says it awards more than $1.3 million in need-based grants annually to around 25% of students. It does not offer merit or athletic awards. Admission is decided before aid; grants depend on demonstrated need and available funds, are reviewed annually, and are not guaranteed to increase when family need rises.
Families apply through Clarity, which charges a $60 submission fee. Noncustodial-parent information may be required. The live page still gives February 2, 2026 as its deadline. That is a dated deadline, not a 2027–28 instruction. Ask Forman for the current aid calendar before planning backward.
Deposit, refund, and tuition insurance
The public enrollment portal says an online contract and deposit secure the place by the date shown in the family account. It does not disclose the deposit amount, payment dates, withdrawal clauses, or aid-appeal process.
Under the 2026–27 handbook, tuition is nonrefundable on or after the first day, subject to contract and insurance terms. Dewar tuition insurance costs 5% of tuition less aid. It is required unless full tuition was paid by July 1, 2026; it is recommended but not required for that full-pay plan and required for other payment plans and public funding. Forman may hold $500 against final miscellaneous charges.
Material extras can include private tutoring, therapy, psychiatry, medical care, medication, diagnostics, transportation, private music, UConn credit, Winterim or Costa Rica travel, international insurance, optional laundry, storage, break travel, livery, belongings insurance, and some activities. A dated 2025–26 Winterim catalog used $1,000 domestic and $1,500 international nonrefundable deposits; those are illustrations, not current trip prices.
Forman’s public model is unusually legible. The student-level delivery plan is where the decision still lives.
We see a coherent proposition for an academically motivated, clinically stable teenager with dyslexia, ADHD, dysgraphia, or executive-function needs: small classes, explicit literacy and writing options, C&L on the timetable, repeated EF practice, supervised study, and a residential week that can turn strategies into habits. The school also publishes meaningful boundaries around autism, social communication, behavior, and significant emotional need.
We would not enroll on program names alone. The current record does not show guaranteed remediation dose, practitioner certification, dyscalculia method, speech-language capacity, counseling frequency, overnight dorm coverage, next-cycle admission and aid details, complete contract cost, or outcomes after college entry. Those gaps are answerable if the school is willing to build a child-specific schedule and operating plan.
The decisive revisit exercise is simple: take one ordinary hard day. The student wakes late, misses medication, cannot decode the science reading, avoids starting an essay, loses an athletics item, and feels isolated after lights-out. Who notices each event? Which adult teaches rather than merely enforces? What reaches the family? How does the system try again tomorrow? A credible answer is more valuable than any ranking.
Continue the decision
Carry the Forman questions into the rest of the boarding-school process.
Use our boarding-school interview and campus-visit guide to observe classes and meet the adults who would deliver support. Then audit the dorm, weekend, phone, travel, and safeguarding system. Before signing, place the school’s contract beside our full-cost and financial-aid guide and offer, revisit, and enrollment-contract checklist.
International families should separately build the visa, insurance, medication, guardian, and emergency-travel chain. A beautiful campus visit is useful; a complete operating plan is what makes the year sustainable. Forman’s official virtual campus tour can help families orient themselves before travel, but it cannot verify service capacity.
Sources and further research
Where to verify and keep reading
We favor direct links to the exact page or document a family may need next. Access dates matter because admissions, tuition, leadership, and programs change.
- Application Process
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Admissions and testing
- The Forman Student
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Fit and exclusions
- School Tours
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Visit process
- Admissions, Academics, Athletics, and More: FAQs
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Scale, class size, tuition, and legacy details
- 2026–27 Curriculum Guide
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Methods, courses, and graduation rules
- Academic Curriculum
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Academic overview
- Flagship Programs
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Named literacy approaches; dose unstated
- Postgraduate Program
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · PG structure
- Performing Arts
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Arts overview
- Our Sports
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Sports and recreation
- Boarding at Forman
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Dorm overview
- Life at Forman
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Daily rhythm
- 2026–27 Parent and Student Handbook
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Residential, health, conduct, and insurance policies
- Affording Forman
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · 2026–27 tuition and aid; deadline dated
- Enrollment Portal
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Contract and deposit terms not public
- 2025–26 Winterim Catalog
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Dated trip-cost illustration
- College Counseling
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Placement claim and 2026 list
- Forman Celebrates the Class of 2026
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Official count of 56 graduates
- Head of School
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Leadership biography
- Cognition and Learning Building and Diagnostic Center
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Dated board-leadership reference
- Quinn Assessment Center
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Diagnostic service, not placement promise
- School Directory Record: Forman School
NEASC · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Accredited; last evaluated 2025
- Forman School Nonprofit Explorer Record
ProPublica · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Public FY2025 Form 990 data
- Forman School Profile
Niche · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Secondary profile and small polls
- Forman School Reviews
Niche · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Self-selected, unverified reviews
- Virtual Campus Tour
Forman School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Official promotional orientation