Quick facts

Tuition 2026–27
$90,000 a year; multiple payment plans are available. Tuition and affordabilitySchool aid typically ranges from $5,000 to $25,000. Families seeking NYC DOE funding follow a separate process.
Admissions
Rolling admissions for all grades. A psycho-educational or neuropsychological evaluation is required (less than two years old; within a year for K–Grade 3). How to applyThe apply page still refers to the 2025–2026 school year.
Parent portal
Veracross login. Veracross login
School calendar
School-year dates. Calendar
Campuses
Lower School, 20 Bergen Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201 · Middle School, 133–135 Summit Street, Brooklyn, NY 11231 · Upper School, 23 Sidney Place, Brooklyn, NY 11201

Checked against Mary McDowell Friends School’s own pages on October 8, 2026.

One school · three Brooklyn campuses
K–5 Cobble Hill · 6–8 Carroll Gardens · 9–12 Brooklyn Heights

Each division has its own building and commute

Fall 2027 admissions
2027–28 inquiry available · rolling policy

The detailed apply page is stale; openings, dates, fee, and decision calendar are not public

Published tuition
$90,000 for 2026–27

2027–28 tuition and contract terms are unknown; school aid and NYCPS funding are separate processes

K–12 continuity still contains two major transitions

the divisions occupy separate buildings in three adjoining Brooklyn neighborhoods. Lower School is half a block from the Bergen Street F/G station.

Middle School is about a nine-minute walk from the Carroll Street F/G station. Upper School is near the 2/3, 4/5, A/C/F, and N/R/W lines around Brooklyn Heights, Borough Hall, Court Street, and Jay Street–MetroTech.

A family is joining one institution, but the child changes building, neighborhood, schedule, faculty structure, and daily independence at Grades 6 and 9.

the academic design changes with age. Lower students have two homeroom teachers and move into needs-based reading and math groups.

Middle students also have two homeroom teachers, plus occupational therapists, a counselor, and speech-language pathologists; literacy and math groups are described as three to six students. Upper School shifts toward course requirements, subject teachers, advisors, advanced coursework, clubs, and college planning.

For some children, the division changes may offer useful developmental resets. A child can gain independence and a new identity without leaving the school community.

Still, these transitions are not automatic continuations of one service plan. Ask how reading groups, math placement, language therapy, occupational therapy, counseling, assistive technology, grading, homework, and family communication change at each transition.

A Lower School promise should not be assumed to continue unchanged in Grade 6 or Grade 9.

The public record leaves the cohort picture unresolved. The school does not give division-by-division enrollment, current class counts, actual homeroom sizes, cohort retention, or the number of continuing students who leave at Grades 6 or 9.

Federal 2023–24 data reported 431 students and 140 full-time-equivalent classroom teachers, but its grade table places 111 students in an “ungraded” category and should not be used to estimate current seats. Ask for the actual cohort picture the child would enter.

A listed diagnosis does not settle the day-to-day match

MMFS expects average-to-above-average intellectual ability and a need for a small specialist setting. Its definition of learning disability reaches beyond decoding: reading, writing, math, receptive and expressive language, organization, planning, time management, reasoning, attention, and memory all appear.

That breadth makes MMFS potentially relevant to a child with a mixed learning profile, not only a student with classic dyslexia.

MMFS is likely to fit best for a cognitively capable student whose academic access improves with explicit instruction, small groups, repetition, multisensory practice, assistive technology, and adults who understand learning disability. The child must also be able to participate in a group school, build relationships, tolerate correction and practice, and move toward self-advocacy.

A child can have ADHD, anxiety, sensory needs, or social-language weakness and still fit; what matters is the intensity and function of those needs during an ordinary school day.

Published boundary — MMFS says it lacks the necessary level of support for students diagnosed with autism, cognitive impairments, or emotional and behavioral disabilities. The wording does not explain how admissions handles a secondary autism diagnosis, school avoidance, significant anxiety, impulsive behavior, elopement, aggression, self-harm history, eating concerns, personal-care needs, or a recent hospitalization.

Nor does it publish an accommodation ceiling, staffing for one-to-one support, or a formal therapeutic model.

Parent action — give admissions the complete current picture, including what happens when learning is hard. Ask which proposed class and skill groups can meet the child, which needs the school expects its own clinicians and teachers to carry, and which needs require outside care.

A warm discussion about the diagnosis is less useful than a concrete account of arrival, literacy, math, unstructured time, regulation, homework, and recovery after a difficult moment.

The Friends identity reaches the weekly schedule, not only the mission page

MMFS grounds its work in the Quaker testimonies summarized as SPICES: Simplicity, Peace, Integrity, Community, Equality, and Stewardship. It describes a community of many religions and backgrounds and translates the Quaker idea of an “inner light” into “that of Good” in everyone.

The mission also links Quaker values with social responsibility, antiracism, equity, and advocacy.

each division gathers for Silent Meeting once or twice a week. A query opens the silence, and students may speak if moved.

MMFS says the practice develops deep listening, reflection, presence, body regulation, and community. All ninth graders also study Quaker History and Practice.

These are concrete curricular and communal expressions of identity; families do not need to infer them from the school’s name.

Silent Meeting may feel grounding for a child who benefits from predictable reflection and shared ritual. Sustained quiet can also be demanding for a student with attention, sensory, motor, or regulation needs.

Ask how adults prepare younger students, what movement or communication accommodations are available, whether sharing is always voluntary, and how the practice changes after a hard community event.

Judgment — the most important Quaker question is how values govern ordinary conflict. Ask students and families how equality affects whose voice is heard, how restorative practice and discipline interact, how a bullying or bias concern moves through the school, and how trustees use Quaker decision-making.

The public pages establish aspirations and rituals. They do not publish discipline outcomes, climate data, board minutes, or a current complaint process.

The methods are visible; implementation and response still decide their value

Lower School reading groups meet daily. Students are grouped by instructional level and learning need, with peers close in age.

Teachers use PAF, an Orton-Gillingham-based program, to teach decoding and spelling. The school says formal and informal reading assessments occur regularly and guide instruction and future group placement.

Writing is taught several times a week through Judith Hochman’s Teaching Basic Writing Skills, moving into reports and research papers.

Middle School combines reading and writing in an hour-long daily literacy group of three to six. The curriculum uses Wilson Reading System and addresses decoding, fluency, comprehension, vocabulary, paragraphs, and research papers.

A May 2026 school account describes speech-language pathologists building lessons in advanced spelling patterns and morphology from Wilson, Just Words, and Megawords so literacy teachers could use a consistent curriculum with independent practice and assessment.

Upper School English includes reading comprehension, literary analysis, expository writing, vocabulary, and study skills across four required years. History explicitly teaches note taking, research, and use of primary and secondary sources.

The site does not say that every Upper School student continues a separate structured-literacy class. A rising ninth grader with unresolved decoding or spelling needs should ask whether remediation remains a scheduled course, is embedded in English, or must occur elsewhere.

Independent context — a 2021 meta-analysis found positive average effects for Orton-Gillingham-branded interventions, but the effects were not statistically significant and the authors called for larger, stronger studies. The federal What Works Clearinghouse reported that, as of its 2010 learning-disability review, it could not draw conclusions about Wilson because no eligible studies met its standards.

These reviews do not show that MMFS instruction fails. They show why program names cannot substitute for teacher training, dosage, fidelity, baseline, and repeated child-level response data.

Parent action — ask who will teach the child, that person’s training, actual group size, minutes, materials, starting skill, progress measure, review dates, and rule for changing group or method. Also ask how grade-level knowledge remains accessible while decoding develops.

Audiobooks, voice-activated software, teacher voice amplification, and a Chromebook appear in the program; confirm which tools this child may use during instruction, assessment, homework, and standardized testing.

Small, daily math is promising; the academic ceiling must be tested subject by subject

Lower School math is daily, small-group, and level-based. The school uses Math in Focus with Singapore Math and Stern Structural Arithmetic, hands-on materials, multiple problem-solving strategies, and a concept-before-procedure sequence; a full-time Lower School math coach is on staff.

Middle math is also daily and grouped, using Math in Focus and JUMP Math. Some eighth graders study algebra and geometry.

this design could serve both a child whose math difficulty is largely linguistic and one who needs concrete representation, more repetition, or a carefully sequenced number-sense approach. The public pages do not separate those profiles.

They also do not publish math assessment tools, group ranges, rate of movement, dyscalculia-specific intervention, or what “some” eighth graders means for Algebra readiness. Ask the school to map the evaluation’s exact math findings to a proposed group and goal.

the wider program is not a stripped-down remediation schedule. Lower students study science, social studies, healthy choices, art, music, physical education, library skills, and executive functioning.

Middle students take history, science, Spanish, current events, arts, music, performing arts, and physical education. Upper School requires four years of English and history, three years of math and science, two years of a modern language and art, and four years of health, wellness, and physical education.

Upper School math ranges from Foundations through calculus, statistics, and personal finance. Science moves through earth and space science, biology, and chemistry, with senior electives including physics, neuroscience, STEAM, and computer science.

Students study Spanish or American Sign Language, and juniors in excellent standing may propose an academic honors project. These offerings show a real college-preparatory runway, but not how many sections run, how often, or which prerequisites and accommodations apply.

The school describes responsive grouping, but not an auditable growth system

Lower School says formal and informal reading assessments occur regularly and guide instruction and group placement. A detailed 2018 school account said reading assessments then occurred at the beginning, middle, and end of the year, but that older practice should not be treated as the current calendar.

A 2024 staff account describes a Middle School writing rubric tied to New York standards and Hochman skills for more consistent CSE reporting.

the school uses skill-based grouping and says groups change in response to student needs. That is an instructional mechanism, not outcome evidence.

The public site does not name the current reading, spelling, writing, math, language, executive-function, or social-emotional measures used across divisions. It also does not publish expected gains, score distributions, percentage meeting goals, retention, attrition, or outcomes by entering profile.

Judgment — the public evidence supports a coherent set of teaching ingredients and meaningful adult staffing. It does not let an outside reader determine how much students grow or for whom the model works best.

That is the principal evidence gap in the profile. The family’s decision should turn on child-level baseline, dose, response, and next-step evidence rather than the number of named programs on the website.

A student may stay through graduation, but the right endpoint remains individual

MMFS says there is no typical length of stay. Some students transition to mainstream schools after a limited number of years; others benefit from remaining through high-school graduation.

This differs from a school that defines successful treatment as leaving after a set remedial period. Families should ask each year whether the program remains the best academic, social, and independence-building environment—not assume either that departure is failure or that K–12 availability requires staying.

college counseling is part of the Upper School curriculum. Families receive an overview in Grades 9 and 10 and can schedule a counselor conference beginning in Grade 10.

Juniors and seniors take a full-year College Seminar and meet regularly with an assigned counselor. The school hosts at least 40 college and postsecondary representatives a year and describes application, essay, interview, financial-aid, decision, and self-advocacy support.

MMFS says the 46 students in the Class of 2026 received more than 250 acceptances. Its college page lists the institutions and postsecondary programs offering admission.

This shows breadth of options, not enrollment, fit, affordability, persistence, accommodation access, or completion. The school does not publish how many students matriculated at each destination, how many chose two-year or non-college routes, or how graduates fare after one, two, or four years.

A structured academic day sits inside a recognizably full school life

Based on the published schedule, the academic day is likely to feel busy, relational, and highly scaffolded. Lower students move between homeroom and small skill groups.

Middle students receive daily grouped literacy and math while also changing subjects. Upper students manage a conventional course sequence with advisors and assistive tools.

Two teachers and a large specialist staff may make it easier to receive help early; they also make quiet avoidance harder. We did not observe classes, so families should test this description during a student visit.

the arts are not peripheral. Lower students take art once or twice weekly and music twice weekly, with chorus for younger children and rock band for older students.

Middle students study visual art, perform in bands, and may join a full musical. Upper students complete a two-year art requirement and can pursue visual art, music ensembles, acting, two main-stage productions, portfolio work, and additional years in a chosen discipline.

competitive team sports begin in Grade 7. MMFS lists 16 Middle and Upper School teams across soccer, volleyball, basketball, cross-country, track and field, softball, and pickleball.

Middle students in Grades 7 and 8 may try out for club or league teams; Upper teams compete in the Independent School Athletic League. Physical education runs in all three divisions.

Lower after-school runs five days a week; Middle after-school runs four and includes Extended Day and Homework Lab. Cost varies by days and is not published.

Upper students have clubs, co-curriculars, productions, athletics, and travel, but the site does not advertise a comparable daily childcare program. Current pages also omit regular arrival and dismissal times, homework averages, lunch arrangements by division, phone rules, late buses, and activity transportation.

Family-life reality — the 2026–27 calendar includes parent-teacher conference days with no school, separate division professional-development days, report-writing closures, and noon dismissals. Fall 2027 dates are not public, but the current calendar is a fair warning to price backup care and compare calendars with siblings.

Ask a current family in the same division to narrate a normal school day, a production or sports day, and a week when the child is tired or overloaded.

Choose the division commute, not the school’s mailing address

MMFS says families come from all five boroughs, with most from Brooklyn and Manhattan, plus some from New Jersey and Long Island. That describes reach, not transportation.

Lower, Middle, and Upper School have different addresses and nearby subway options. A sibling pair can therefore have two morning routes, two dismissal points, and different late-day schedules.

The transportation plan is not public. MMFS does not say that it operates buses.

It also does not publish arrival supervision, regular dismissal, late dismissal, independent-travel permissions, MetroCard or OMNY practice, NYCPS route availability, ride length, late-bus service, or what happens when a public route misses after-school or athletics. Ask MMFS and the responsible district about the actual child and address rather than relying on another family’s arrangement.

Published public rule — NYCPS transportation depends on grade, distance, school type, route availability, and any transportation mandate in an IEP or 504 plan. Specialized transportation is an IEP service determined through the special-education process; a private-school acceptance does not create it automatically.

Families outside New York City need the rules of their home district and should not assume NYC routes apply.

Parent calculation — rehearse the trip at the real hour and include walking pace, elevator or platform access, sensory load, winter conditions, adult accompaniment, sibling handoffs, therapy, homework, sports, productions, and missed-route backup. Repeat the calculation for Grade 6 and Grade 9.

The K–12 promise does not keep the family commute constant.

First decide whether the school’s job is remediation, continuity, or transition

If the family wants intensive language remediation followed by a planned return to mainstream school, compare MMFS with Windward. Windward publishes a narrower language-based learner profile, three daily literacy periods, an average stay of three to five years, and a formal outplacement process.

MMFS serves a broader learning-disability profile and allows a K–12 path. Ask which model better matches the desired endpoint and which can show the stronger child-level teaching and progress plan now.

If a small K–8 language-based program is the main alternative, compare MMFS with Gateway or Stephen Gaynor on group fit, service dose, academic stretch, and the value of a later school change. Gateway describes a transition to mainstream settings and weighs class grouping in admission.

Gaynor ends before high school and provides placement support. MMFS can remove that required Grade 8 search, but continuity is valuable only if the Upper School remains the right academic and social match.

If K–12 language-based specialization is the priority, Churchill is a more direct structural comparison. Both schools describe college-preparatory K–12 programs, small classes, specialists, and clear boundaries around primary autism or behavioral and emotional needs.

Compare the exact reading and math group, clinician minutes, peer profile, high-school course sequence, commute, funding terms, and current safeguarding policies. Similar grade spans do not make the daily programs interchangeable.

Judgment — MMFS has the strongest comparative case when a family wants specialist teaching, a broad arts-and-athletics life, a visible Quaker community, and the option to avoid mandatory outplacement.

It has a weaker public case when the decision turns on exact therapy minutes, independently interpretable growth, guaranteed advanced sections, transparent current finances, or publicly reviewable safeguarding. Those may be strengths in practice; the current public record cannot confirm them.

$90,000 is the known tuition; reimbursement is not money already received

tuition is $90,000 for 2026–27, with multiple payment plans. The school does not publish 2027–28 tuition, deposit, enrollment-contract liability, tuition insurance, refund terms, or a full fee schedule.

Its tuition page says instruction, college counseling, language therapy, fine and gross motor sensory therapy, and assistive technology are part of the program. It does not state whether lunch, trips, athletics, arts materials, after-school, transportation, evaluations, or outside care are included.

need-based assistance is administered through Clarity, is separate from admission, and depends on need and available funds. The school says awards typically range from $5,000 to $25,000 and that 27 percent of students received assistance in the prior year.

Awards require annual reapplication and are not guaranteed to continue. The page’s 2026–27 deadline was September 1, 2026 and had already passed when this guide was reviewed; obtain the Fall 2027 date directly.

MMFS calls the two principal NYCPS routes Carter reimbursement and Connors direct funding. It says most of its students receive Carter funding and that a few receive Connors funding each year.

It also repeats unnamed law firms’ claim that 98–99 percent of NYC tuition cases win or settle and says reimbursement can take two years or more. The school publishes no cohort, denominator, years, case definition, denial rate, settlement reduction, legal cost, or child-specific prediction.

Do not use that percentage in a family budget.

Public-record context — Mary McDowell did not appear in the current NYSED approved-private-school workbook when checked. A historical State Review Officer decision likewise described it as not approved for district contractual placement.

That does not prevent a family from pursuing unilateral-placement reimbursement, but it makes an approved-school placement and a parent-initiated claim different legal and cash-flow paths. Confirm current status with NYSED and obtain child-specific advice before acting.

Parent action — budget the contract amount first. NYC Public Schools explains that settlement review may require the complaint, program and attendance records, tuition contract, proof of payment, provider credentials, and loan documents.

A settlement or order can be less than tuition and can arrive after payments are due. Need-based school aid, unilateral-placement reimbursement, direct funding, IEP services, and borrowing are separate.

A qualified special-education attorney should advise on notice, evidence, timing, and risk.

The inquiry is live; the complete cycle is not yet public

Current as of September 2, 2026 — the admissions inquiry asks families to choose an enrollment year and includes 2027–28. MMFS also says it welcomes new students at every level, follows rolling admissions, and accepts applicants entering Kindergarten through Grade 11.

It does not accept Grade 12 entry. These facts make a Fall 2027 inquiry appropriate now.

They do not prove that a particular grade has an opening or that a complete 2027–28 application is ready.

Current-page conflict — the detailed application page still says the school is accepting all grades for 2025–26. The information-session page says Fall 2026 dates will be announced and that sessions will resume in the fall, but it lists no dates.

The public site does not publish a Fall 2027 priority date, application fee, notification timetable, reply deadline, deposit, openings, wait-pool rules, or division-specific visit format. Confirm the cycle and checklist in writing before planning around “rolling.”

every applicant needs a psychoeducational or neuropsychological evaluation. It must be less than two years old, and no more than one year old for K–3 applicants.

The file also includes current and prior-year report cards, an IEP if one exists, a current classroom-teacher checklist for Lower and Middle School, current English and math recommendations for Upper School, and other relevant speech-language or occupational-therapy evaluations.

After file review, the school may invite the student to visit if it believes the program could meet the applicant’s needs.

decisions are made on a rolling basis and communicated in writing.

Unknown — the public pages do not explain what the student visit includes, how long it lasts, whether parents interview, what screening tools are used, whether a child uses normal accommodations, how quickly a complete file is reviewed, or what keeps an otherwise suitable applicant waiting. Do not coach the child into looking unsupported.

Ask the team what it needs to see, then let it meet the student who would actually enroll.

Division starts are logical application years—not promised expansion grades

Kindergarten — published fact: MMFS accepts Kindergarten applicants, requires an evaluation completed within the prior year, and reports that Lower School begins at K. Unknown: the school does not publish a birthday cutoff, Kindergarten class count, number of seats, playgroup format, school-readiness criteria, or whether all Kindergarten places are available to new families.

Federal data counted six Kindergarten students in 2023–24, but that old count does not establish the size of Fall 2027 entry.

Grade 6 — published fact: Grade 6 starts the Middle School, whose literacy and math groups are three to six students.

Unknown: MMFS does not call Grade 6 a major entry point or state how many Lower School students continue, how many new students join, or how reading, math, age, and social fit determine available groups. Ask whether the child is applying for a genuinely open cohort or for attrition-dependent space.

Grade 9 — published fact: Grade 9 starts the Upper School, and MMFS accepts Upper School applications through Grade 11. Unknown: the site does not state Grade 9 expansion, incoming credits, transcript review, course-placement testing, diploma type, Regents policy, standardized-testing expectations, or the number of outside students joining.

Ask whether the child can enter the published sequence in math, science, language, English, and history without losing challenge or accumulating gaps.

Our parent read — K, 6, and 9 deserve early inquiries because they begin new divisions and are natural moments for peer-group formation. The public record does not justify calling them guaranteed entry points.

Ask admissions for planned Fall 2027 cohort size, returning-student count, anticipated openings, current complete applicants, and the specific group the school is trying to build.

Our read

A compelling long-term specialist model whose decisive evidence remains child-specific

Criteria — we weighted functional learner fit, clarity and dosage of instruction, related-service integration, academic runway, progress evidence, belonging, family sustainability, transition support, and institutional accountability. MMFS has a coherent public identity.

It builds a complete school around learning disability rather than adding accommodations to a conventional program, and it offers K–12 continuity without sacrificing arts, athletics, languages, travel, or college planning.

Strongest evidence — current division pages establish daily small-group literacy and math, named teaching approaches, two-teacher structures, integrated language and occupational support, assistive technology, a substantial Upper School course sequence, and college counseling beginning before the application year. Silent Meeting once or twice weekly and ninth-grade Quaker study show that Friends identity is practiced.

External records support institutional existence, scale, and NYSAIS accreditation.

Mary McDowell beside other learning-differences schools

A useful school-to-school comparisonCompare Mary McDowell Friends with ChurchillBoth offer specialized K–12 paths, but their school scale, instructional groupings, related-service descriptions, community identities, campuses, commute, and upper-school experience require child-specific comparison.A useful school-to-school comparisonCompare Mary McDowell Friends with AaronBoth can extend through high school. Compare the Brooklyn three-campus Quaker path with Aaron’s K–7 and Grades 8–12 split, then test course options, peer group, support dose, cost, and transition risk.Compare specialist modelsNYC schools for students with learning differencesCompare learner profiles, teaching dose, related services, age ranges, transition models, cost, public-funding routes, and commute across representative NYC programs.Compare a time-limited modelWindward Manhattan parent guideUnderstand how intensive language remediation with an exit plan differs from MMFS’s possible long-term K–12 path.Plan the middle-school fileNYC Grade 6 learning-support and disclosure guideTranslate an evaluation into the school-day strengths, barriers, accommodations, and support questions an admissions team can act on.Build a durable budgetNYC private-school financial-aid guideSeparate school aid, public reimbursement, annual renewal, contract exposure, and the costs sitting outside tuition.

Where to verify and keep reading

We favor direct links to the exact page or document a family may need next. Access dates matter because admissions, tuition, leadership, and programs change.

  • Mary McDowell Friends School

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current K–12 overview, learner examples, three divisions, staffing scale, student-teacher ratio, activities, and Class of 2026 headline.

  • Welcome and Mission

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current mission, K–12 identity, learning-differences focus, Quaker foundation, and schoolwide program framing.

  • Admissions

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current 2027–28 inquiry option, K–11 eligibility, rolling policy, file requirements, evaluation recency, learner profile, length of stay, aid, and family geography.

  • How to Apply

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Detailed process, records, evaluation, file review, student visit, and rolling decisions; headline remains labeled 2025–26.

  • Parent Information Sessions

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current division inquiry links and 75-minute virtual-session format; Fall 2026 dates were not listed when checked.

  • Tuition and Affordability

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Official 2026–27 tuition, Clarity aid rules and prior-year figures, included-support description, and school-authored Carter/Connors discussion; not legal advice.

  • Learning Disabilities at MMFS

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current diagnoses, intellectual profile, exclusions, instructional methods, related services, executive-function support, assistive technology, and self-advocacy.

  • Academics at MMFS

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current schoolwide methods, small-class model, daily-service claim, team approach, assistive technology, and college-preparatory framing.

  • Lower School

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current K–5 teaching team, daily grouped reading and math, writing, content subjects, assessment language, LT, OT, arts, executive function, and technology.

  • Middle School

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Grade 6–8 team; three-to-six-student daily literacy and math; history, science, Spanish, current events, services, arts, athletics, and technology.

  • Upper School

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Grade 9–12 requirements, course range, Quaker study, clubs, arts, athletics, travel, advisors, support network, honors projects, and college-preparation claim.

  • College Counseling

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Grade 9–12 family sequence, junior and senior College Seminar, assigned counselors, college visits, application support, and Class of 2026 acceptance list.

  • Quaker Practice

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current SPICES testimonies, multi-faith community description, Silent Meeting once or twice weekly, and school explanation of Quaker identity.

  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current school commitments linking Quaker values, antiracism, equity, inclusion, and disability.

  • Leadership

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current school, educational, administrative, and trustee roster; no public bylaws, committee mandates, terms, minutes, or complaint path.

  • Locations

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Lower, Middle, and Upper addresses, neighborhoods, nearby transit, and building descriptions.

  • 2026–27 School Calendar

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current prior-cycle planning context for closures, conference days, professional-development days, report-writing days, and noon dismissals; not the Fall 2027 calendar.

  • Student Life

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current schoolwide arts, athletics, travel, club, performance, and leadership framing.

  • The Arts at MMFS

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current division-level visual art, music, chorus, rock band, theater, performance, portfolio, and Upper School requirement details.

  • Athletics at MMFS

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Grade 7–12 team program, 16-team claim, leagues, sports, and physical-education frequency by division.

  • Clubs and Workshops

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current extracurricular and co-curricular context; offerings can vary.

  • Travel and Trips

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current division trip and travel context; exact Fall 2027 offerings and costs remain unverified.

  • After School

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Lower five-day and Middle four-day models, homework and social components, and variable-cost statement; no current public prices or end times.

  • Shining the Light on LD: Language Therapy

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · May 2026 school-authored explanation of receptive and expressive language work and push-in/pull-out delivery; no child-level service minutes.

  • Multisensory Decoding and Encoding at the Middle School

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · May 2026 school-authored account of SLP-created advanced spelling and morphology lessons drawing on Wilson, Just Words, and Megawords.

  • CSE Development in the Middle School

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · May 2024 school-authored description of CSE reporting forms and a standards-linked writing rubric; not a schoolwide outcome study.

  • Helping Elementary School Students to Become Better Readers

    Mary McDowell Friends School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · 2018 school-authored description of then-current reading groups, assessments, PAF, fluency, comprehension, and differentiation; used only as dated context.

  • Private School Search: Mary McDowell Friends School

    National Center for Education Statistics · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Federal Private School Universe Survey record for 2023–24: K–12, coeducational, special-education, Friends affiliation, 431 students, 140 FTE classroom teachers, 169 days, and 6.8 hours; grade table includes 111 ungraded students.

  • Mary McDowell Friends School

    ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer / IRS data · Accessed September 2, 2026 · IRS exemption and filing-status context; the record says ordinary annual filings are not required because the IRS designates the organization as religious, so current 990 financial data are unavailable.

  • Mary McDowell Friends School

    Association of LD Schools · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current member profile confirming K–12 scope and identifying NYSAIS as accrediting body.

  • Overview of Accreditation

    New York State Association of Independent Schools · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current description of NYSAIS self-study, peer-review, and accreditation structure; no MMFS report or term is published here.

  • Listings of New York State Approved Private Schools

    New York State Education Department · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current official workbook checked September 2, 2026; Mary McDowell was not listed. Confirm current status directly before relying on this for an individual placement or funding decision.

  • State Review Officer Decision 12-097

    New York State Education Department · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Historical 2013 decision identifying MMFS as not approved for district contractual placement at that time; not evidence of current program quality or an individual funding result.

  • The Settlement Process

    NYC Public Schools · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current official settlement pathway and examples of complaint, program, attendance, contract, payment, provider, and loan documentation; not legal advice.

  • New York State Procedural Safeguards Notice

    New York State Education Department / NYC Public Schools · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Official due-process and unilateral-placement framework, including notice and equitable-consideration context; family-specific legal advice remains necessary.

  • Transportation Eligibility

    NYC Public Schools · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current grade, distance, nonpublic-school, route, stop-to-school, curb-to-school, IEP, 504, and Student OMNY eligibility context.

  • Specialized Transportation

    NYC Public Schools · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current explanation of specialized transportation as an IEP service determined through the special-education process.

  • Current State of the Evidence: Examining the Effects of Orton-Gillingham Reading Interventions

    Exceptional Children / PubMed Central · Accessed September 2, 2026 · 2021 peer-reviewed meta-analysis finding positive but statistically nonsignificant average effects and calling for larger, more rigorous studies.

  • Wilson Reading System

    U.S. Department of Education What Works Clearinghouse · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Federal intervention review; as of its 2010 learning-disability review, no eligible studies met standards, so WWC could not draw effectiveness conclusions.

  • Mary McDowell Friends School

    Niche · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Claimed profile with 13 self-selected reviews and inconsistent schoolwide ratio data when checked; used only as limited directory and question-generating context.

  • Admissions at Windward

    The Windward School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current language-based learner profile; used only for a conditional model comparison.

  • Student Outplacement

    The Windward School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current annual-readiness and approximately year-long transition process; used only for a conditional time-limited-model comparison.

  • Apply

    The Gateway School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current learner boundaries, group-fit admissions factor, and K–8 context; used only for a conditional comparison.

  • Placement

    The Gateway School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current outplacement model; used only to compare a program ending after middle school.

  • Admissions

    Stephen Gaynor School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current learner profile and age span; used only for a conditional pre-high-school comparison.

  • Alumni Outcomes

    Stephen Gaynor School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current placement-office and destination context; used only for a conditional comparison.

  • Apply to Churchill

    The Churchill School and Center · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current K–12 application and grade-band process; used only for a conditional structural comparison.

  • Admissions FAQs

    The Churchill School and Center · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current learner profile, program boundaries, class structure, and service description; used only for a conditional K–12 comparison.