Quick facts

Tuition 2026–27
$68,600 a year, Grades 6–12. Tuition pageBooks and materials average $400–$600 (Middle) or $600–$800 (Upper); Upper School laptop up to $1,500.
Fall 2027 dates
Application deadline Jan. 5, 2027 · notification Mar. 12 · reply by Mar. 19. How to apply
Parent portal
MyCrystal (Blackbaud myschoolapp) login. MyCrystal login
School calendar
School-year dates. Calendar
Campuses
Middle School, 10 Davis Drive, Belmont, CA 94002 · Upper School, 400 Uplands Drive, Hillsborough, CA 94010

Checked against Crystal Springs Uplands School’s own pages on October 8, 2026.

Current school
Coed · Grades 6–12 · 570 students

Official 2026–27 profile: 220 Middle School and 350 Upper School students

Entry reality
Grade 6 clear · Grade 9 full process · Grade 7 unknown

The school publishes no grade-level seats, applications, offers, yield, or waitlist movement

Two campuses
Grades 6–8 Belmont · Grades 9–12 Hillsborough

Different addresses, start-time anchors, and bus systems

2026–27 published tuition
$68,600 before books and Upper School laptop

Known first-year baseline: about $69,000–$69,200 Middle; $69,200–$70,900 Upper

Middle School is in Belmont; Upper School is in Hillsborough

Grades 6–8 attend 10 Davis Drive in Belmont. Grades 9–12 attend 400 Uplands Drive in Hillsborough.

They are not adjoining divisions on one campus, and current transportation documents give them different arrival and departure schedules.

This makes Grade 9 more than an academic promotion. Students change site, daily timing, older peers, course structures, activity expectations, and transportation patterns.

Crystal runs Grade 8 parent programming, an eighth-grade visit, ninth-grade advisory, and a ninth-grade retreat to prepare for the move.

The transition page describes preparation but does not state whether current eighth graders automatically continue, complete a re-enrollment review, or ever lose a place. It also does not publish how ninth-grade sections mix continuing and newly admitted students.

Those are fair questions for both internal and external families.

A family with children in both divisions should model two clocks. The current schedule has one morning shuttle from the Middle campus to the Upper campus, but it does not show a matching afternoon bridge.

The Middle School builds range before specialization

A sixth grader takes English, world history, earth science, math, and the first level of a world language. Wellness, introductory computer science, and study skills rotate by trimester; arts rotate unless the student chooses a year-long choir or instrumental path.

By Grade 7, life science replaces earth science, language continues, and math branches across Math 7, Math 7A, and Math IA. Grade 8 adds United States history and physical science, with Math I, IA, or IIA placement.

The architecture is broad on purpose: academics, music, arts, athletics, co-curriculars, advisory, and office hours sit inside the school program. Middle School sports typically run after lunch or in the final period, though games can extend the day.

Placement is the quiet pressure point. Ask what evidence moves a student among math sections, whether placement can change midyear, how language background is assessed, and whether the timetable protects art and music when a student needs additional academic help.

Ninth grade is structured; choice grows later

A ninth grader takes English I, global history, biology, placed math, a continuing or beginning French, Spanish, or Mandarin sequence, Intro to Mind-Body, introductory computer science, and fine arts. The published curriculum lists 32 ninth-grade arts possibilities and a sport, dance, or activity choice each season.

Ninth and tenth graders take five academic courses and usually fine arts. In Grades 11 and 12, Crystal strongly encourages four academic courses in the name of balance, while electives and advanced work expand.

Crystal has not designated courses as AP since 2012–13. Its own Honors and Advanced courses carry the rigor, and students may sit for some AP exams on campus.

That is an educational choice, not an absence of advanced work, but families moving between systems should understand how transcripts travel.

Honors courses receive a 0.3 GPA weight. Most students do not begin Honors work until Grade 11; tenth graders may take at most two Honors courses and the school says the vast majority take one or none.

The cumulative GPA begins in fall of Grade 10, and Crystal does not rank students.

Parent read — this is a useful counterweight to acceleration for its own sake. Still ask how placement decisions are made, how often students move down or up, and whether the unweighted transcript plus internal weighting is legible to scholarship programs or schools outside Crystal’s usual college network.

Crystal publishes estimates; families still need the total

The current curriculum page estimates average weekly homework per subject at 45 minutes in Grade 6, 60 minutes in Grade 7, and 90 minutes in Grade 8. These are per-subject weekly averages, not total nightly hours.

Upper School assignments average about 30–45 minutes per class, while Honors and Advanced assignments may take up to 60 minutes per class period. The page does not state how many homework-producing classes meet each day or publish a weekly student median.

That distinction matters. A per-class estimate becomes a family-night estimate only after you add the student’s actual rotation, long-term writing and lab work, rehearsals, games, travel, and the ride home.

The published bus clocks reveal more than a glossy schedule

The Middle School describes a day of Morning Meeting, academic blocks, music, athletics, and co-curriculars, with Advisory and Office Hours built in. Advisory meets twice each week in small groups.

Those are transport times, not official opening bells. Games, rehearsals, clubs, office hours, and late shuttles can redraw the afternoon, while some routes offer only morning service.

The 2026–27 calendar begins with on-campus Grade 6 and Grade 9 onboarding and retreats, while several other grades leave for overnights. That is useful evidence of a relationship-centered opening, but it is not a promise of the 2027–28 calendar.

There is a real structure, and the school states a real limit

Crystal may create a Formal Education Plan for a student with a documented learning difference. Published examples include extended time, note-taking help, and technology for written work.

Teachers also offer office hours, and the two divisions have separate directors of academic support.

Middle School study skills explicitly teaches time management, organization, and problem solving. Upper School adds peer tutoring and short-term small-group tutorials in English, math, science, and executive functioning.

The support page also republishes a March 2007 board statement saying Crystal’s resources for learning differences are limited. It describes direct help through the Academic Resource Center, reasonable accommodations, and referrals to outside specialists.

Families should take that boundary literally, even though the page itself is current.

School counselors meet students individually or in small groups during school hours and can communicate with parents. The public page does not provide counselor caseloads, confidentiality rules, crisis coverage, referral costs, or whether regular therapy is available.

Unpublished — FEP documentation age, eligibility rules, assessment ownership, service minutes, progress reporting, appeals, outside-provider coordination, tutoring fees, and support outcomes. A family with a current plan should request a written pre-enrollment mapping, not rely on a general assurance that accommodations exist.

Small-school closeness is the promise; lived inclusion is the test

Crystal’s current mission is to empower kind, curious learners through transformative teaching and meaningful connections. Its values name scholarship, Growth Challenges, kindness and inclusion, balance, enthusiasm, and humility.

The school reports that 69% of students are people of color and describes affinity spaces, identity and inclusion programming, professional learning, partnerships, and a commitment to anti-racism. A percentage, however, does not measure belonging, disciplinary equity, classroom voice, or whose families shape decisions.

Advisory, Morning Meeting, clubs, retreats, student leadership, community service, and grade traditions create repeated contact beyond class. At 570 students, the community is small enough that relationships can accumulate—and small enough that social friction may feel hard to escape.

Crystal is nonsectarian. Families should still ask how major religious observances, fasting, dietary restrictions, gender identity, pronouns, disability, family structure, political disagreement, and socioeconomic difference are handled in daily practice.

The arts look central, not decorative

Crystal offers ceramics, design, photography, video, visual art, dance, drama, music, and technical theater. The school says 75% of students participate in the arts, though it does not publish the headcount, time period, or whether a required rotation counts.

Drama spans classes and productions, but the public pages do not disclose audition, casting, rehearsal, fee, private-lesson, instrument-rental, or late-bus policies. Ask whether a beginner receives meaningful stage or ensemble time.

A broad sports menu does not answer the roster question

Crystal currently lists 26 teams in nine Middle School sports and 24 teams in 11 Upper School sports. Middle seasons include cross-country, flag football, lacrosse, basketball, soccer, baseball, tennis, track, volleyball, and a run club; Upper School adds options such as sailing, squash, swimming, golf, and beach volleyball.

The school says there is a competitive team for every Gryphon. That is a first-party promise, not a published no-cut policy.

Ask about evaluations, roster caps, developmental teams, playing time, club-sport conflicts, injury support, travel, gear, and return transportation.

Buses are included, but route fit is not guaranteed

Tuition includes extensive buses and shuttles to selected BART, Caltrain, and park-and-ride locations. Crystal says routes are clustered into two to four stops so students are not riding excessively long loops.

Current Middle routes connect Colma, Black Mountain, Los Altos, Menlo Park, Woodside, Burlingame, the Upper campus, Belmont Caltrain, and other stops. Current Upper service includes northern and southern I-280 routes, San Mateo Caltrain, limited Foster City morning service, and a morning Middle-campus shuttle.

Capacity is the catch. The transportation page says routes can approach capacity, changes depend on available seats, and new stops are unlikely.

The 2026–27 El Camino South Upper route was canceled for low enrollment, while some other services operate in only one direction.

Fall 2027 routes are not yet published. Test the current route as a scenario, not a promise: exact walk or drive to the stop, morning departure, ordinary return, late activity return, missed-bus backup, BART or Caltrain fare, and how the plan changes when siblings attend different campuses.

Parent read — an included bus can be real financial value and still be a large time cost. A route that protects parent driving but takes a child away from home for eleven hours is not automatically a good route.

Three counselors begin the formal work in Grade 11

Crystal reports three full-time college counselors, all former admission officers at selective universities, and an average caseload of 30 students in each graduating class. Individual assignment and meetings begin in Grade 11, with earlier access for special circumstances and office hours open to all students.

A 30-student average is more informative than a counselor count, but it is still a school-reported average rather than a published range. Ask whether counselor turnover, leave, or unusual class size changes the load, and how many family meetings occur.

Also ask how counselors address financial fit, merit aid, public-university applications, recruited athletics, arts portfolios, learning accommodations, first-generation families, and students whose goals do not center on highly selective colleges.

$68,600 is the starting line, not every family’s finish

Published 2026–27 tuition is $68,600 for every grade. It includes daily snacks and lunch, most field trips and class retreats, a Middle School iPad, extensive transportation, a PE uniform, and Family Association membership.

Middle School books and materials average another $400–$600, putting the known annual baseline at roughly $69,000–$69,200. Upper School books and materials average $600–$800, and a laptop may cost up to $1,500, producing a known first-year baseline of roughly $69,200–$70,900.

Those totals still exclude anything the school does not price publicly: application and enrollment charges, transit fares, optional travel, personal sports equipment, private lessons, instrument costs, formal-event clothing, lost-device charges, and family giving. Some may be covered, waived, or subsidized; the page does not say for full-pay families.

Fall 2027 tuition and payment terms are not public. Ask for the 2027–28 price, deposit, schedule, tuition-refund insurance, withdrawal liability, expected annual increase, and a grade-specific list of all required charges before signing.

The program is broad, but the final admissions stage is need-aware

Crystal says more than 22% of students receive Tuition Assistance Program support. Awards range from $1,000 to full tuition and average 72% of tuition.

The page gives no recipient count, income bands, or division-level distribution.

Aid is need-based only. It can extend to books, computers, athletic gear, BART travel, and school events such as homecoming, prom, and graduation.

The public page does not define automatic eligibility for these extras or the percentage each family receives.

Families apply through Clarity, pay $65 unless waived, authorize tax verification, and reapply every year. Every parent or guardian—including noncustodial parents and separate households—normally completes an application, though the school will consider exemptions.

Admissions says it reads for need without regard to aid until the final stage, then balances the class against available funds. Crystal says it has historically had enough assistance for all admitted families demonstrating need.

Plain English: the process is not fully need-blind at the end.

Data warning — the live page’s family examples calculate percentages against a $52,200 full-tuition figure, not the current $68,600. Those examples appear numerically stale and should not be used to predict a present award.

Grade 6 is visibly the front door; Grade 7 is the unresolved one

Grade 6 — the live Middle School process is clearest here. In-person events and family tours are reserved exclusively for sixth-grade applicants because of space limits, and the current calendar gives sixth graders their own on-campus onboarding and retreat.

Grade 7 — Crystal serves the grade, but the public page does not say whether Fall 2027 applications are open, how many attrition seats might exist, or whether the same process applies. Do not translate a generic ‘Middle School Application Path’ into an available seventh-grade seat.

Ask Admissions before completing forms or recommendations.

Grade 9 — the school publishes a complete Upper School application path and a dedicated ninth-grade transition program. It does not publish the number of external ninth-grade spaces or distinguish new-student seats from the students continuing from Grade 8.

The 2026–27 profile reports a 23% admission rate. It supplies no application or offer counts, cycle definition, or grade breakdown, so that figure cannot produce Grade 6, Grade 7, or Grade 9 odds.

It is context, not a family probability.

Crystal also states that sibling, alumni, or employee relationships do not guarantee admission. The public material does not quantify how those relationships are considered, if at all.

The public dates look prior-cycle; use Ravenna as the Fall 2027 clock

As of September 2, 2026, Crystal’s live application page lists January 8 for applications, March 20 for notification, and March 27 for the decision reply. It does not attach years to any of those dates.

Those March dates fall on Fridays in 2026 but Saturdays in 2027. That strongly suggests the public page may still display the prior cycle.

Inference — families should not put the printed dates into a Fall 2027 calendar until Ravenna or Admissions confirms the year-specific schedule.

The public page also omits the preliminary-application fee, recommendation and transcript deadlines, Kira completion deadline, interview window, tuition-assistance deadline, enrollment deposit, and contract-cancellation terms. A current Ravenna checklist should settle each item before a family begins.

Build the application backward from the actual Ravenna deadlines. Teacher requests need lead time, the current-year transcript cannot appear until the first semester or trimester closes, and both child and parent have Kira work to complete.

Crystal asks for writing, group interaction, and a parent video

Both divisions begin in Ravenna with a preliminary application, Why Crystal and Connect with Crystal events, a student statement with common essay and school-specific short answers, and a Student Activity and Interest Form.

The student then completes a timed written response in Kira. Middle School requires an in-person group interview; Upper School uses a virtual group discussion.

A parent or guardian records a Kira video share about the family and child.

Middle School recommendations come from the fourth- and fifth-grade teachers or the current math and English teachers, plus the principal or counselor. If the fourth- and fifth-grade teacher is the same, the school asks for a third-grade recommendation.

Upper School asks for current math and English recommendations plus the principal or counselor.

Both applicants submit the last academic year and the first semester or trimester of the current year. Optional material may include another recommendation, a portfolio link, or a free-response box, but optional should remain optional unless it shows a dimension the required file cannot.

The live process does not list an ISEE or SSAT requirement. A separate FAQ still refers to a 2024–25 testing policy, which is stale evidence.

Ask whether Fall 2027 is test-free, test-blind, or simply missing a test step; do not submit a score on assumption.

The child needs a voice that still sounds like a child

A timed written statement rewards comfort generating and organizing an answer without adult polishing. Practice short, concrete responses: an idea the student changed their mind about, a hard group moment, something they tried before feeling ready, and a community contribution that is more specific than ‘I am kind.’

The group format adds another question: can the student listen, build on someone else’s thought, invite a quieter peer, and disagree without performing dominance? That behavior aligns more closely with Crystal’s stated humility and kindness values than a rehearsed list of achievements.

Parents should use the video to explain the child, not market the household. The helpful material is the condition in which this student grows, a real challenge, how adults partner with teachers, and why Crystal’s particular mix fits.

Do not spend the optional submission on volume. A short portfolio can show sustained work in music, art, engineering, writing, or service.

A fourth generic recommendation mostly shows that another adult was available.

Our read

Our read: Crystal’s real advantage is coherence, not prestige

Crystal’s best case is unusually coherent. It asks students to work hard, try things, stay kind, and remain more than a transcript.

The arts are in the curriculum, Middle School athletics are in the day, teachers have office hours, advising repeats, and the Upper School intentionally limits the rush into Honors work.

The danger is that families hear ‘balance’ and imagine ease. Published homework estimates, serious placement, a broad activity menu, and regional commuting can create an extremely full life.

The right test is not whether Crystal offers balance. It is whether this child can build balance inside Crystal’s actual week.

Crystal Springs on the Peninsula map

Compare Bay Area school modelsTwelve Bay Area schools compared by entry, support, cost, and commuteSet Crystal Springs Uplands beside eleven other Bay Area schools on entry grades, geography, support, cost and the daily route.Compare the fieldBay Area private-school admissions guidePlace Crystal’s entry points, testing, calendars, and costs beside the broader regional process.Compare breadthThe Harker School parent guideCompare a much larger multi-campus program with visible Grade 6 and Grade 9 expansion seats.Compare inquiryThe Nueva School parent guideContrast Crystal’s balanced college-prep model with Nueva’s inquiry-led, gifted-education frame.Compare a small high schoolCollege Prep Oakland parent guideCompare another small, discussion-centered Bay Area option for Grade 9.How we reportEditorial standardsSee how Admissions Diary separates fact, school claims, independent signals, inference, and opinion.

Where to verify and keep reading

We favor direct links to the exact page or document a family may need next. Access dates matter because admissions, tuition, leadership, and programs change.

  • Crystal Springs Uplands School

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current school identity, enrollment-facing program claims, class size, student-teacher ratio, diversity headline, clubs and sports headlines

  • Admission

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current admission philosophy, review factors, sibling and relationship disclaimer, international-applicant rules, and need-aware final-stage explanation

  • How to Apply

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Live Middle and Upper application paths, recommendations, transcripts, Kira writing, group interviews, parent video, sixth-grade-only in-person access, optional supplements, addresses, and year-unlabeled dates

  • Tuition and Tuition Assistance

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · 2026–27 tuition, included items, estimated books and materials, Upper laptop, 22% participation headline, award range and average, beyond-tuition support, Clarity process, household rules, annual renewal, and arithmetically stale family examples

  • Middle School

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Grades 6–8 identity, Belmont context, Morning Meeting, advisory, office hours, co-curricular and daily-rhythm claims

  • Upper School

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Grades 9–12 identity, Hillsborough context, academic and community framing

  • Academics

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current whole-school academic philosophy and links to division curricula and support

  • Curriculum

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Grade 6–12 required courses, math pathways, world languages, arts choices, sports and activity structure, study skills, and published homework estimates

  • Academic Support

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Formal Education Plans, accommodation examples, office hours, peer tutoring, tutorials, counseling, support staff, outside referrals, and the March 2007 board statement about limited resources

  • Upper School Transition

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Grade 8 parent panel and visit plus Grade 9 advisory and retreat; does not document internal re-enrollment or continuation policy

  • College Counseling

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current three-counselor staffing, former admission-officer backgrounds, school-reported 30-student average caseload, Grade 11 formal start, earlier access and office hours

  • 2026–2027 School Profile

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Date-specific enrollment and faculty facts, academic load, credits, non-AP policy, Honors limits and weight, GPA and rank context, Class of 2027 size and testing, National Merit, four-year admission claim, Senior Project, and 2023–26 matriculation list

  • Transportation

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current route philosophy, two-to-four-stop clustering, capacity constraints, change rules, and low likelihood of new stops

  • 2026–2027 Upper School Bus Routes

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Upper stops, arrival and departure anchors, San Mateo Caltrain shuttle, limited one-way services, Middle-to-Upper morning shuttle, and El Camino South cancellation

  • 2026–2027 Middle School Bus Routes

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Middle stops, arrival and departure anchors, Belmont Caltrain route, Wednesday service, and one-way route limits

  • School Calendar

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current 2026–27 start, grade-specific onboarding, on-campus and overnight retreats, holidays and community events; not used as the Fall 2027 calendar

  • Arts

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current visual, performing, media and design offerings plus school-reported 75% participation without a numerator or definition

  • Drama

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current course and production descriptions; audition, casting and rehearsal operating details remain unpublished

  • Technical Theater

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Crü access, flexible-commitment framing, weekly assembly support and school-reported show volume

  • Athletics

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current Middle and Upper team counts, sports counts, division timing, competitive-team claim, Sports Medicine and Mind-Body framing

  • Athletic Teams

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current season-by-season Middle and Upper team inventory; existence does not establish no-cut access or playing time

  • Mission and Core Values

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current mission and Scholarship, Growth Challenges, Kindness and Inclusion, Balance, Enthusiasm and Humility values

  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current school-authored identity, affinity, inclusion, professional-learning, partnership and anti-racism descriptions; not independent climate evidence

  • School Leadership

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current school and division leaders, 2026–27 trustee roster, ex officio Head of School, and named committee chairs

  • Employment

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current public link to the Employee–Student Code of Conduct

  • Employee–Student Code of Conduct

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Public professional-boundary rules, examples of prohibited or concerning conduct, internal reporting routes, confidentiality and anti-retaliation language

  • AI at Crystal

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Current first-party framing for artificial intelligence, teaching and academic integrity; reviewed for program context rather than admission rules

  • Your Middle School Peers

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · School-selected student ambassador profiles; useful individual testimony but neither anonymous nor representative

  • Your Upper School Peers

    Crystal Springs Uplands School · Accessed September 2, 2026 · School-selected student ambassador profiles, including individual transition and workload reflections; not a prevalence measure

  • Crystal Springs Uplands School — Nonprofit Explorer

    ProPublica · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Independent presentation of IRS filings; latest year ending June 2025 reports revenue, expenses, contributions, assets, liabilities and net assets

  • Crystal Springs Uplands School

    California Association of Independent Schools · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Independent current Full Member listing, Grades 6–12, day-school status, enrollment snapshot and Belmont additional-campus notation

  • Crystal Springs Uplands School Reviews

    Niche · Accessed September 2, 2026 · Self-selected, nonrepresentative parent and student reviews; used only to identify praise and concerns worth asking about, with a disclosed trustee-review conflict noted